Pop Culture Odds and Ends – Working Late Edition

Blerg. I’m stuck at work until at least 8:30 tonight, which means I’m putting in a solid 12+ hours at the office today. I like my job and all, but that is a long freaking day. This will also throw off my delicately calibrated television viewing schedule. While most normal adults are watching the news and having dinner with their families, I use that time to catch up on The Daily Show, Late Night with Jimmy Fallon and whatever 10 pm shows I didn’t finish the night before. At least I’m getting some comp time.

So while I settle in for the long haul, enjoy your bi-weekly roundup of pop culture nuggets:

  • People magazine announced their Sexiest Man Alive – Channing Tatum. With Magic Mike and 21 Jump Street (not to mention that body), I can’t say that I blame them. But I thought this might be Ryan Gosling’s year.
  • Liza Minnelli will guest star on Smash. This had better not interfere with her ability to reprise her role as Lucille 2 on Arrested Development.
  • Conan has been doing a great bit where he imagines what the new Star Wars film would look like in the hands of different directors.

Woody Allen

Kevin Smith

Michael Moore

  • If you spend any time around tweens, you probably already knew this – Justin Bieber and Selena Gomez have apparently called it quits.
  • A Drive/Mario Kart mashup
  • Music group INXS finally gets around to announcing that they are done touring, only 15 years after lead singer Michael Hutchence’s suicide.
  • Louis C.K.’s next comedy special will air on HBO (but will also be available for download on his website).
  • ABC has given Nashville a full season pick up. I still haven’t had the chance to watch the show; perhaps over Thanksgiving.
  • Showtime is airing a ten part documentary series, Oliver Stone’s Untold History of the United States. I can only imagine what that’s about.
  • Check it out – Joe Biden was on Carmen Sandiego in 1993
  • Vulture examines what James Bond villain plots would work and which would not with the help of an economist (If they told me I could have done stuff like this with my economics degree, I might pursued that instead.)
  • Mumford and Sons + Idris Elba = Happy Heather
  • Bret McKenzie will once again write the songs for the new Muppets film. Double Yay!
  • The Dr. Who Christmas Special will debut in the U.S. on December 25th (fitting) at 9 pn (ET) on BBC America.
  • The New York Times critic was not a fan of Guy Fieri’s new Times Square restaurant
  • And finally, I saw this trailer for the new Jackie Robinson movie 42 over the weekend and I practically squealed. I seriously cannot wait for this movie.

Leave a Reply

