Pop Culture Odds and Ends – I’m Out Of Here Edition

It felt like it would never happen, but the day is finally here – tomorrow I head out on vacation. Hooray! Just in time too; after spoiling us with some gorgeous weather this weekend, Mother Nature decided that she wanted to remind us who was boss. I’m currently watching it snow outside my apartment. If I wasn’t getting out of dodge in less than 48 hours I might be more upset about this turn of events, but since my bags are packed I’m taking all of this in stride. As long as I can still fly out of here Thursday morning, I can handle anything.

I’d love to tell you that I planned well enough that blog postings won’t be disrupted while I’m away, but that would be a lie. I’m going to really try to take a break from all my responsibilities while I’m gone and that extends to blogging. So unless inspiration strikes me out of nowhere and a story comes along that I just HAVE to write about, the blog will temporarily be on hiatus until I get back in the middle of next week. Try not to freak out :-)

So while I try to figure out how much I can fit in a carry-on and break the news to Pumpkin that he’s flying solo for a while, feel free to peruse this menagerie of pop culture links that I’ve assembled. If you read a little bit at a time, you can stretch this blog post out to cover my brief leave of absence. It will be like I never left.

Bk6_l7RCQAA6Ec0

 

  • File this news under “duh” – HBO has renewed Game of Thrones for a 5th and 6th season.
  • The real “Alex” from Orange is the New Black (played by Laura Prepon on the show) speaks with Variety.
  • ABC is doing an Agent Carter TV series. Hayley Atwell will reprise her role from Captain America: The First Avenger.

MeanGirls9_

  • Jon Hamm was on Sesame Street:

 

  • This LEGO replica of Fenway Park was awesome enough that even this Yankee fan was impressed:

 

  • Someone who is in the new Star Wars? Peter Mayhew, the man behind Chewbacca.
  • Aaron Paul was also at the music festival, photobombing like a boss:

paulcoachella

 

  • Meanwhile, Paul’s former Breaking Bad co-star Bryan Cranston was helping a kid ask a girl to prom:

 

I think this prom-posal trend is ridiculous, but that is fantastic.

  • Jimmy Fallon and Stevie Nicks recreated her “Stop Draggin My Heart Around” video, with Fallon assuming the Tom Petty role:

 

  • Jennifer Hudson has released a new track:

 

  • Alicia Keys and Kendrick Lamar have a song in the new Amazing Spider-Man movie:

 

  • The MTV movie awards were up against Mad Men and Game of Thrones on Sunday, so I didn’t watch them (plus I’m a grown up), but host Conan O’Brien had quite the celebrity studded cold open.
  • I do have to respect an awards show that doesn’t even pretend to be something that they are not. For example, Zac Efron won the award for Best Shirtless Performance and accepted in the most appropriate fashion:

AUW0t0T

 

Trailers:

  • A first look at Ben Affleck in Gone Girl:

That didn’t look terrible.

  •  A new clip from The Fault In Our Stars:

 

  • A first look at Maps to the Stars:

 

  • The bronies are getting another documentary:

 

  • A Most Wanted Man, one of Philip Seymour Hoffman’s final roles:

 

  • Wish I Was Here, Zach Braff’s new film:

 

It’s been noted that this trailer has a lot in common with his last film, Garden State.

  • The first trailer for The Leftovers on HBO:

 

  • The final trailer for X-Men:Days of Future Past:

 

As always, we end with the mashups and supercuts

  • It was only a matter of time – Defying Frozen Gravity:

 

tumblr_n3yqbmnlM71tyxypso1_400

 

  • A James Brown/Game of Thrones mashup:

 

  • Game of Thrones…with kittens:

 

  • Mad Men meets Blaxploitation:

 

  • The Firefly theme song redone as “yacht rock”

 

  • This Frozen/Breaking Bad mashup is perfection (and does not involve “Let It Go”):

 

1987

Leave a Reply

