Pop Culture Odds and Ends – Using Some Vacation Days Edition

Normally my summer vacations revolve around going to visit friends; over the years many of my friends have scattered across the country and vacation is a chance to catch up with people and explore some of my favorite cites. I am lucky that most people have relocated to fun and exciting places that I would want to visit anyway, so it works out for everyone. This year, however, a weird phenomenon has happened – the stars have aligned and almost all of my far away friends are coming through Albany at some point this summer. It’s kind of weird to have everyone on my home turf, but it is also has been beneficial for my travel budget. Since I don’t have anyone to go visit, I’ve decided to do a bunch of smaller trips instead of one big trip this year. I’m still not 100% what I’m doing, but since summer is more than half over I’m starting to put together some concrete plans. It’s exciting to have so many possibilities, but it’s also a little overwhelming. I’m also trying to work around my already over-scheduled social calendar; I’d already committed to a bunch of activities before I decided to use up some vacation time. I’ve got to stop buying concert tickets.

While I spend hours figuring out some ways to blow through my stockpile of vacation days, catch yourself up on the pop culture that you may have missed in the last week. With the Television Critics Association meeting wrapping up and Comic Con about to begin, there was plenty of pop culture goodness to choose from this week. I love when that happens!

  • A Game of Thrones theory has been making the rounds lately. It isn’t new, but this video explaining it has revitalized it (spoilers):

 

  • Kanye gave an interview to GQ and as usual, it is filled with ridiculous quotes. Don’t ever change, Yeezus.

nic-cage

stone-cold-1

  • There’s a contest to win a hometown screening of the new Star Wars film – and give a sneak peek at the new X-wing prototype (full disclosure – I have no idea what that is):

 

  • The final season of Sons of Anarchy will not only have Courtney Love and Marilyn Manson, but also Theo Huxtable.
  • I was so very sad to hear that the great Elaine Stritch had passed away. In her honor, here’s some of her best moments on 30 Rock:

 

  • Here’s a photo of Joe Manganiello as a kid and Joe Manganiello now. Impressive transformation.

f389563592bba81f6464e5bf51018719

bort-coke

  • Side note – I don’t even really drink soda any longer, but I’m kind of obsessed with finding a Coke bottle with my name on it.
  • I only just learned of American Ninja Warrior thanks to my friend Laura’s kids, but even I recognize that this run through the course is pretty impressive:

 

fun-legoland-prince-george-birthday-party-4

Note to LEGOLand, my birthday is in September. Start building.

  • Ryan Murphy teases the conjoined twins from American Horror Story: Freak Show:

https://twitter.com/MrRPMurphy/status/489817335583084544

 

  • Edit out the banter and an episode of Family Feud only lasts 3 minutes:

 

  • Conan and Dave Franco explore Tinder; hilarity ensues:

 

  • Here’s a first look at Michelle Monaghan, Peter Dinklage, Josh Gad and Adam Sandler in Pixels:

Pixels

Trailers:

  • A look at the new season of Homeland:

 

  • A teaser trailer for Fifty Shade of Grey turned up in an unlikely place – Beyoncé’s Instagram feed:

 

  • A first look at Jake Gyllenhaal in Nightcrawler:

 

  • Elisabeth Moss in The One I Love:

 

  • Jim Parsons and Rihanna lend their voices to Home:

 

  • Benedict Cumberbatch in The Imitation Game:

 

  • Dominic West (McNulty!) in the new Showtime series, The Affair:

 

  • Another week, another new trailer for Gotham:

 

  • Keira Knightley in Laggies:

 

  • The Conjuring spinoff, Annabelle, gets a trailer:

 

  • More scary stuff – the trailer for Ouija:

 

  • Syfy’s new show, 12 Monkeys:

 

  • The Rock predicts the outcome of a fight between Hercules and Superman (he’ll portray the former in an upcoming movie that looks terrible but that I will still see).
  • Tumblr of the week: Bea A Day, because who doesn’t love Bea Arthur?

dead-parrot

  • This aquarium is pretty cool:

 

  • Footage has surfaced of a young Kanye West rapping in 1996:

 

As always, we end with the mashups and supercuts.

  • The Game of Thrones theme – the dubstep remix:

 

  • Kids cursing in movies:

 

  • A cover of Queen’s “Another One Bites the Dust<” created using clips of people screaming in movies:

 

slash-cornflake

 

  • Here’s a slow jam version of The Muppet Babies theme:

 

  • Jack White covering “99 Problems” is like my dream come true:

 

  • Hear the Queen’s Guard play a cover of The Game of Thrones theme:

 

  • And finally, “Let It Go” sung using clips from 80s TV shows:
Leave a Reply

