Pop Culture Bucket List

When most people come up with a bucket list, it is full of visits to exotic and out of the way places and activities that they don’t usually engage in. After all, the idea is that these are things that you want to do before you die, so people aim for the stars.

This list is a little different, since clearly I already spend a lot of time on pop culture. But I like the organizing principle behind a bucket list in that it makes you think about what you really want to do. There are so many options and so much to consume. It helps with prioritizing and I personally like the idea of working toward a goal. There is just something so satisfying about crossing something off a list. Plus your friends are less likely to argue with doing something with you if you tell them it is on your bucket list 🙂

So without further ado, I present you with Heather’s (ever evolving) pop culture bucket list:

  • Visit all 30 MLB stadiums (in progress – about halfway done)
  • Go to a major film festival (Sundance, Tribeca, Toronto, Cannes, etc.)
  • Watch a taping of The Daily Show (completed 8/7/13), The Colbert Report (completed 5/1/14), Conan, Letterman or Jimmy Fallon (completed 10/10/13)
  • See a Broadway show on Broadway (I’ve only seen touring companies) (completed 12/8/12 – Once)
  • Go to Comic-Con in San Diego
  • Go to the World Series (preferably when the Yankees are playing)
  • Go to the Masters at Augusta National
  • Go to the Superbowl
  • Go to a Notre Dame football game in South Bend
  • Attend one of the major music festivals (South by Southwest, Lollapalooza, Coachella, etc.)
  • Be an extra in a movie or TV show
  • Watch all of the AFI 100 greatest movies (59 to go)
  • See a movie at the Alamo Drafthouse  (allegedly the best movie theaters in the country)
  • See the Hollywood sign (never got around to it when I was actually in LA)
  • Visit the filming locations of Lost in Hawaii
  • Visit the filming locations of The Wire in Baltimore (decidedly less glamorous)
  • Get my picture taken with a celebrity (preferably not a Kardashian) (completed 8/18/12)
  • Go to Vegas
  • Finish the Game of Thrones series (on Book 2)
  • Drive across the country and soak up the Americana
  • See Foo Fighters, Aerosmith (completed 6/29/12), U2 and Madonna (completed 9/8/12) in concert
  • Go to a Rocky Horror Picture Show interactive screening
  • Visit the prison from The Shawshank Redemption (in Ohio)
  • Go to the “Field of Dreams” in Iowa
  • Visit Graceland
  • Go to Mardi Gras
  • Write a book

What’s on your list??

6 thoughts on “Pop Culture Bucket List

  1. Alex says:

    Meet Yoko Ono (the most misunderstood woman since Marie Antoinette).

  2. Jen Jen says:

    One of my biggest regrets is not visiting Notre Dame when we lived in Michigan. My grandfather was a huge fan and some of my earliest memories are of sitting at his feet and cheering for the Fighting Irish.

    Some movies are just more fun if you’ve visited the city or state. Every time I watch Dan in Real Life, I think about being at the beach in Rhode Island with my kids. I watched Enchanted with a bunch of girls from youth group at church and I kept thinking “There’s Times Square” or “I ate at that McDonalds” or “I sat on that rock in Central Park.” I tried to explain how large Central Park is but they just couldn’t grasp it.

    Here’s part of my list: Run up the steps to the Rocky statue in Philadelphia. Look for platform 9 3/4 at Kings Cross station in England. Do the Sound of Music Tour in Austria. Visit Prince Edward Island with my girls. Use one of those funky computerized toilets in Japan.

    • heather7180 says:

      I don’t know how I forgot the Rocky statute – that should have been on there too. I probably have a whole separate list for international pop culture – the Abbey Road crossing, the Moulin Rouge etc. I’ve also always wanted to take the Jack the Ripper walk in London. Does that make me weird?

  3. Jen Jen says:

    Also, I live 30 minutes from Park City. You should come for a visit and see the film festival next Jan.

  4. […] Cross another one off the bucket list! […]

Leave a Reply

