Anchorman 2

You may have missed some big news that went down on late night television. Well, big news if you are a fan of one particular San Diego anchorman. Ron Burgundy swung by Conon last night to play a little jazz flute and announce some future plans:

That’s right – Anchorman 2 is happening.

I, for one, am pretty excited for this. Anchorman is possibly my favorite Will Farrell movie. It’s a toss-up between that and Old School. While most of my guys friends can quote movie and TV lines all day, my references are more limited. My quotes primarily come from only a few sources: Seinfeld, Arrested Development, The Godfather, Heathers, The Wire (which no one ever gets) and Anchorman. I’m sure that people are sick of hearing me say “That escalated quickly” or “I don’t know how to put this, but I’m kind of a big deal.” There are just so many funny lines in that movie.

What makes my love for Anchorman unexpected is that I hated the movie when I first saw it. Hated it. Didn’t think it was at all funny. But then the more I watched it, the funnier it got. And when you are friends with someone whose nickname is derived from that movie, you wind up watching it a lot.  Somehow, the channel 4 news team wore me down and I slowly came to love the movie. Looking back on it, I don’t know how I ever thought it wasn’t funny.

Details on the Anchorman 2 plot are pretty limited at this point, but it has been confirmed that both Steve Carrell (Brick) and Paul Rudd (Brian) will be back. I can’t believe that David Koechner (Champ) is that busy, so I assume it will only be a matter of time until he signs on as well. Christina Applegate (Veronica) might be a little trickier with her commitment to her NBC show, Up All Night, but they may want to go in a different direction anyway. Judd Apatow will produce.I do wonder if they have painted themselves into a bit of a corner with the ending of Anchorman revealing what happens to all the characters: Ron and Veronica become co-anchors on cable news, Brick become a political advisor to George W. Bush, Champ get fired from his job with the NFL after sexually harassing Terry Bradshaw and Brian become the host of a reality show on Fox called Intercourse Island. Of course, I don’t think they are going to be limited by things like reason and consistency 🙂

It was an added bonus, though no surprise, that Farrell made this announcement on Conon, as he and O’Brien are very good friends. Farrell was O’Brien’s first and last guest during Conon’s too brief tenure hosting The Tonight Show.  Hopefully many of the people who will watch Ron Burgundy’s appearance will decide to check out Conon as well and give the show a ratings bump. It really is a fun show (Team Coco!).

Since the script isn’t finalized, we will probably have wait for a while until we actually get to see the sequel. But this confirmation that it is actually happening brings us one step closer. Until then, tide yourself over with this clip of Ron Burgundy auditioning for ESPN:

 

Leave a Reply

