Pop Culture Odds and Ends

I had big plans for this weekend – I was going to see a bunch of the new movies that were out, read some books and have some new material to blog about. None of that happened. I didn’t even get to see my beloved Sunday night shows until Monday after work, which meant I spent the day dodging spoilers and generally being agitated that my routine had been tampered with. I care far too much about television.

So while I’m playing catch-up, here is a roundup of some of the pop culture tidbits that have been occupying my time:

  • I mentioned this on Facebook, but I have pretty much been listening to the new Jack White album Blunderbuss non-stop since last week. I’m sure my co-workers wish I would play something else on Spotify. I’m not sure what it is that makes me love it so much – I don’t possess the musical knowledge or vocabulary to discuss what makes a great song great. I just know what I like and I definitely like Blunderbuss. I was a big fan of the White Stripes (RIP), so it is probably no surprise that I also enjoy White’s latest incarnation.  I’m kind of kicking myself that I didn’t know Jack White was playing some small shows in NYC in promotion of the album. Of course now they are sold out.
  • Part of the reason that my week was so out of whack (in a good way) was I spent Thursday night watching the NFL draft. I really wish that they would move this back to the weekend – it was way more fun when all the rounds were done in two days. I wasn’t as familiar with the players in the draft this year, but I was happy to see two Notre Dame players go in the first round (one of which, Michael Floyd, I’d even heard of). I’m still mad at the Bills for winning just enough games to put them in a less favorable draft position – #10 – and while the guy they drafted may be very skilled, he looked absolutely miserable that he was going to have to go to Buffalo. I get it – it isn’t as exciting as South Beach or some of the other destinations, but you just got to live your dream of being a professional football player. So slap a smile on your face and realize how lucky you are. Plus Buffalo isn’t so bad – they have an Applebee’s.
  • This video made me laugh – the guys from the Nerdist podcast took on some of the cast of Mad Men in a bowling match. Weird Al and Jon Hamm – together at last

 

 

  • Speaking of Jon Hamm – his (somewhat controversial) appearance on the live episode of 30 Rock last week was the definite highlight of the show. I watched both versions of the show (east coast and west coast) to see the differences and I think the east coast got the better episode. Really it isn’t fair – Jon Hamm is good looking, funny, a good dramatic actor and also seems to be a good sport and a nice guy (he can even sing!). Is there anything he can’t do?
  • Uggie the dog has a memoir coming out. Even as a fan, I think I’ll pass.
  • I’m about ready to pull the plug on How I Met Your Mother. I don’t even enjoy the show anymore. I’m glad that next week is the season finale. I’ll reevaluate over the summer.
  • I’m trying to read more and take advantage of my (not so) new Kindle. Right now I’m reading P.D. James’ Death Comes to Pemberley, which takes place a few years after the events of Austen’s Pride and Prejudice and focuses on a murder mystery that occurs on the Darcy estate Pemberley. I’m not a huge Austen devotee  – I actually like her stories more as films than reading them – so I’m kind of on the fence. I’m about ¾ of the way through, but I think my overall enjoyment is going to be decided on how they stick the landing of the book. People who have greater affinity for these characters may get more out of it.

Tonight I have a screening of The Avengers, which I am very much looking forward to, so look for a review of that sometime tomorrow. I’ll also be weighing in on the 50 Shades of Grey books (yup – I read them all) in the near future. Once I get my act together.

Leave a Reply

