Pop Culture Odds and Ends – Vacation Edition

While I’m on vacation, enjoy this mini pop culture round up:

For Parks and Recreation fans, here’s a description of how Leslie would envision a Knope presidency

The first Django Unchained trailer has been released. I am so excited for this movie!

You can now play a version of the video game that was on Community

I feel extremely guilty that I haven’t read anything by Ray Bradbury. Perhaps I’ll pick up a copy of Fahrenheit 451 to read on the plane.

In honor of my stay in San Francisco, Mrs. Doubfire recut as a Horror movie. Genius!

For those of you that were in love with Winnie Cooper back in the day, she’s back on the market.

If I wasn’t going to be across the country, I would have seriously considered making the drive to see this parade.

I recently watched the Oprah’s Next Chapter episode where she interviewed Neil Patrick Harris and David Burtka. They were great – they are both very charming and “normal” and their children are beautiful – but I found Oprah really off-putting and kind of smug throughout the interview. For example, she must have marveled three times that she was doing the interview barefoot and she seemed really annoyed that a garbage truck was coming through their neighborhood during the interview. It was all little stuff, but it really rubbed me the wrong way. Has she always been like this?

Why yes – my Yankees did indeed sweep the Mets this past weekend. Thanks for asking 🙂

NPR is streaming the new Fiona Apple record.

If Mad Men’s Trudy Campbell is looking for Father’s Day gift ideas for Pete, might I suggest boxing lessons. That guy seriously needs to learn how to take a punch. He got his butt handed to him all season. And I’m very sad that Sunday night was the season finale; hopefully we won’t have to wait as long for season 6 and we did for season 5.

The plans for a Dirty Dancing remake have been delayed. Here’s to hoping they abandon the idea altogether.

I’m very excited that the A.V. Club has brought back their Pop Pilgrims series where they travel to pop culture landmarks around the United States. This is how I found out you could tour the prison from the Shawshank Redemption and filming locations from The Wire, both of which made it on to my pop culture bucket list.

I’m a sucker for anything recreated in Logos, so this Inception video is right up my alley

 

Even though he probably wasn’t a very good guy, I was sorry to hear that Henry Hill had died. He is the inspiration behind one of my all time favorite movies, Goodfellas. If I see it on cable, I have to stop and watch it.

Leave a Reply

