Pop Culture Odds and Ends – Movin’ On Up Edition

It’s that time again when I round up some pop culture stories over the last few weeks. Enjoy!

  • I was so sad to hear that Sherman Hemsley passed away yesterday. He was 74. I grew up watching The Jeffersons, not realizing how revolutionary it was for its time. Just a great ensemble cast and possibly one of the greatest TV theme songs of all time

His later show, Amen, was also part of our regular Saturday night rotation. And as a fellow short person, I always identified a little with Hemsley. Rest in peace – you’re now in the ultimate deluxe apartment in the sky.

  • I was also sad to hear about the passing of astronaut Sally Ride, who helped show an entire generation of little girls that they could reach for the stars too. I never dreamed of being an astronaut – outer space isn’t my thing – but Ride showed girls like me that there was a world of possibility available to them.
  • Christian Bale visited the victims of the Aurora movie theater shooting. A very nice gesture.
  • If you are looking for some new rising comedians, Esquire and Variety both recently released lists of comics to watch. There is surprisingly little overlap between the two lists and I was pleased that I was already familiar with a lot of the names.
  • Because there can never be too many vampires on TV, NBC announced yesterday that Dracula, starring The Tudor’s Jonathan Rhys Meyers, will be on their fall schedule. When NBC is jumping on a trend, it’s pretty much over.
  • Note to Zooey – this is how you do a fun iPhone commercial:
  • Bad news for Modern Family fans – the show has been forced to halt production as a result of a contract dispute with the adult members of the show. I’d watch a show with just Manny and Luke – those kids are hilarious.
  • The Matrix/Office Space mashup you didn’t even know you wanted:
  • This week’s people have way too much time on their hands link – Super Mario done with post-its:
  • See a young Aaron Paul (Breaking Bad) on The Price is Right (this is probably the only time I’ll link to anything Leno related):
  • For those of you that were interested in checking out Jimmy Fallon based on my post, he has a primetime special tonight on NBC (10 pn ET) which will feature a collection of his best musical numbers (including the fantastic “Tebowie” song I couldn’t link to).
  • Speaking of Fallon, this cooler race with Matthew McConaughey cracked me up:

 

  • From another Jimmy in late night, Kimmel has celebrities read mean tweets about themselves:

 

Leave a Reply

