Pop Culture Odds and Ends – Crazy Busy Edition

I am absolutely swamped this week at work – we’re unveiling a big new program next week and I’m running around trying to get all our ducks in a row. It’s great to be busy, but I’m probably one of the few people I know who was laboring on Labor Day (from home, but still). Every day I look forward to leaving the office and immersing myself in some pop culture goodness to ease my pain. Here are some of the stories I’ve been reading to get me through this insanity. Fingers crossed, things will be less stressful next week.

  • Most unexpected delegate at the DNC? Hello Newman.

Yup – that’s really Wayne Knight, Delegate from Oregon (?)

 

  • The latest Twitter craze? Eastwooding. Not as catchy as Tebowing.
  • I love when politicians sing and I especially love when it’s Springsteen. So last night’s Jimmy Fallon/Governor Christie duet was right up my alley.

 

  • Jim Carey is apparently going to appear in the long awaited (at least by me) Kick-Ass 2.
  • The premiere dates for It’s Always Sunny in Philadelphia and The League that were unavailable when I wrote my Fall TV schedule have now been released – both with debut of FX on Thursday October 11 at 10 and 10:30 pm respectively.
  • Another pop culture round up, another celebrity death. I was very surprised to hear that Michael Clarke Duncan had passed away and was even more surprised to discover that he had not been in as many films as I thought. His performance in The Green Mile was just fantastic and really was a role that was perfect for him. I had also forgotten until his passing that he was engaged to former The Apprentice villain Omarossa. An odd pairing. Rest in peace Michael.
  • The trailer for the latest Jeremy Renner vehicle has been released; check him out in Hansel and Gretel: Witch Hunters (no – seriously)

I have no doubt I’ll see this movie; if I watched Abraham Lincoln, Vampire Hunter, I’ll watch this.

  • Speaking of movies with a questionable premise – Will Smith is attached to The Redemption of Cain, the tale of Cain and Able with a vampire twist. Oy.
  • Ryan Gosling is going to be directing a movie starring Christina Hendricks. It doesn’t matter the plot – this is officially the most awesome movie ever made (though the plot sounds pretty cool too).
  • The NFL is shopping around a movie about football (duh) that is unique in that it will actually have the league’s blessing. The NFL has not cooperated with many productions, so this is kind of a big deal. However, they are also fiercely protective of their brand, so expect a pretty sanitized version of life on the gridiron. I am still mad at the NFL for pressuring ESPN to drop their scripted show Playmakers because they didn’t like how the sport and league were portrayed. That show was great. Did anyone else watch it when it was on (circa 2004)?
  • Speaking of the NFL, happy kickoff day! The Giants and Cowboys start of the season tonight. As a fan of a team that hasn’t made the playoffs in 12 years, I’ll just be happy with a winning season. I haven’t even had one of those since I became a fan.
  • A sequel to Beverly Hills Cop movie franchise will be made as a TV show. Eddie Murphy is involved and will appear at least in the pilot, though the show will focus on his character’s son, who is also a cop. I’d be more skeptical, but Shawn Ryan (creator of The Shield) is involved. Does this mean I actually have to get around to watching Beverly Hills Cop?
  • I’m not particularly a Minnie Driver fan (is anyone?) but I’m intrigued by her latest project – a horror-musical described as “Scream meets Glee.”
  • Your weekly Arrested Development news – Henry Winkler will reprise his role as Barry Zuckerkorn. That’s wonderful, but I hope that doesn’t mean we won’t be getting an appearance from Bob Loblaw.
  • New webseries alert – Conan O’Brien will be launching Serious Jibber-Jabber with Conan O’Brien next month.
  • Rumors surfaced late last week that Jennie Garth and Luke Perry might be dating, which sent the hearts of a lot of Beverly Hills, 90210 fans all a twitter (not mine – I was team Brenda). While the pair denies any romance, they are in fact shopping a sitcom together.
  • The follow up to the web hit Dr. Horrible’s Sing-a-Long Blog (starring Neil Patrick Harris, Nathan Fillion and Felicia Day) may finally be moving forward after years of speculation. If you missed this when it debuted four years ago, The CW will be broadcasting it on October 9th (which strikes me as odd – why wait so long?) and I highly recommend it.
  • For those of you who enjoyed my post on British television, Paste magazine did their own roundup of the 16 best shows on the BBC. I now have some new programs to check out.
  • MTV has announced that the upcoming season of The Jersey Shore will be its last. I poured some Ron-Ron juice out on the sidewalk to commemorate the occasion.
  • I got a kick out of this video, where someone spliced together the dialogue from Mad Men to make the cast “sing” Rick Astley’s “Never Gonna Give You Up”

Some people are very creative – and have a lot of spare time.

  • Two comedy specials are debuting this weekend that I plan to check out – Lewis Black In God we Rust (Saturday at midnight on Comedy Central) and Jay Mohr Funny for a Girl (Saturday at 8 pm on Showtime). I’ve see Lewis Black live multiple times, but I’m curious what Jay Mohr’s stand-up is like.
  • Um…how do you have a “Price is Right” 40th Anniversary special and NOT invite Bob Barker? CBS, you do not want to tangle with Mr. Barker. We know what he is capable of.

 

And finally, enjoy this Funny or Die video “Cosby Watches Cosby.” The editing is really perfect and sums up how a lot of people felt about that last season of The Cosby Show. Olivia and Cousin Pam? Bad idea.

Leave a Reply

