Pop Culture Odds and Ends – It’s Almost My Birthday edition

It’s Wednesday, y’all. We’re halfway through the week! I’m especially excited for this week to wrap up so I can start my birthday celebration. Most people stop getting excited for their birthday sometime in their teens, but I am not like most people. I’m not alone in thinking my birthday is awesome – Earth, Wind and Fire even wrote a song about it:

So while the nation waits with bated breath for the big day to arrive, here’s your bi-weekly roundup of pop culture stories to help kill the time.

  • I also share a birthday with Bill Murray, Nicole Richie, Faith Hill, Ricki Lake, H.G. Wells, Jerry Bruckheimer, Liam Gallagher, Dave Coulier, Alfonso Ribeiro, Leonard Cohen, Larry Hagman, Cecil Fielder and Greg Jennings. Not too shabby.
  • The highly anticipated release of the big screen adaptation of Les Miserable has been delayed 11 days. It will now open on Christmas Day, going head to head with Tarantino’s Django Unchained. Guess which one I’ll be seeing.
  • Jon Stewart and Bill O’Reilly will debate each other online on October 6th, which has got to be more entertaining than the actual presidential debates.
  • There is a cat running for Mayor of Halifax, Canada. If my cat Pumpkin ever was elected to office, he would make Stalin look like a pushover.
  • Sad news from the world of soaps – John Ingle, who played Quartermaine patriarch Edward on General Hospital, passed away at the age of 84. His last appearance on the soap was September 11th, which was apparently done at the actor’s request so he could play the role one more time. Port Charles won’t be the same without him.
  • I hadn’t even heard of most of the shows on this list of obscure British comedies to watch, but I guess I now have a new project (because I have so much free time).
  • Soundgarden will release their first new album in 16 years this November.
  • Ben Folds Five + Fraggles = Awesome Sauce

Oh Ben Folds Five. How I have missed you.

  • Speaking of a time suck, Google now has a new search tool that allows you to find out how many degrees an actor is from Kevin Bacon. For example, Jon Hamm’s “bacon number” is 2 – Hamm appeared with Rebecca Hall in The Town and Hall appeared with Bacon in Frost/Nixon.
  • Lindsay Lohan was arrested this morning for hitting a pedestrian with her car. Your move, Amanda Bynes.
  • As an unabashed Golden Girls fan, I enjoyed this story about the books written by the women of the cast. I may have to seek one or two of them out.
  • I used to watch The Dick Van Dyke show religiously when it was on Nick at Nite, so I was glad to see this piece on the A.V. Club about the 10 best episodes. One of my favorites (“It May Look Like a Walnut!”) made the list. That was seriously a great show.
  • Ben and Jerry has announced their newest limited edition flavor – cannoli. This will not end well for me.
  • While the iPhone5 is getting all the attention, Nintendo announced their follow up to the Wii console. Wii U will be released in November.
  • Sending well wishes to Kathy Bates, who announced last week that she had a double mastectomy.
  • Also wishing a speedy recovery to Jerry “the King” Lawler, who had a heart attack during the filming of Monday Night Raw. I grew up watching wrestling, so he holds a special place in my heart.
  • While we’re on the topic….Saved by the Bell’s Dennis Haskins (aka Mr. Belding) has decided to try his hand at wrestling. Oh the humanity.
  • I was already excited for the upcoming new season of Parks and Recreation (debuting 9/20), but the news that Jonathan Banks (Mike on Breaking Bad) will guest star makes me positively giddy.
  • I have no idea if Ken Marino really punched Nick Kroll on the set of The League or not, but I’m kind of dying to find out. My gut says he didn’t, but you just never know.
  • Adam Scott is really the best. Here he is last night on Conan, dissecting the lyrics to “Ice, Ice Baby”
  • As a huge fan of Halloween, I hope to someday get to Universal Studios for their annual Halloween Horror Nights. This year they have a maze inspired by The Walking Dead.
  • Well, that was short-lived – the company that brought you “Hologram Tupac” has gone bankrupt.
  • A Breaking Bad/Simpsons mash-up? Sign me up!
  • I love that Rahm Emanuel’s spokesperson had to deny that the Chicago Mayor likes Nickleback.
  • My current album obsession is the new Avett Brothers release, The Carpenter. I’m particularly fond of “I Never Knew You.”
  • There has been debate circulating on the internet about the ending of Titanic, specifically the idea that there was indeed room for two people on the wooden plank that Rose rides to safety on. Director James Cameron disagrees and has enlisted the help of Mythbusters to prove his point.
  • Bruce Springsteen and Eddie Vedder shared a stage in Chicago during the Boss’ concert. I would have killed to see that. My heart hurts just thinking about it.
  • Amy Poehler and Will Arnett have decided to separate after 9 years of marriage. I still don’t think I’m ready to talk about it.
  • Lots of changes at the judges’ tables of two popular singing competitions. American Idol announced their full slate of judges – Mariah Carey, Randy Jackson, Nicki Minaj and Keith Urban – last week. Not to be outdone, The Voice announced that Usher and Shakira will replace Christina Aguilera and Cee Lo in the spring edition of the show.
  • I finally finished Justin Cronin’s The Passage and I have to say that overall I enjoyed it. I found that once I was able to sit and read long passaged without interruption; there is a very deliberate pacing that I couldn’t fully appreciate when I was reading short snippets. While I didn’t love the ending, it got the job done and made me very interested in picking up the second book in the trilogy, The Twelve, when it is released next month. Don’t let the vampire angle scare you off – this is very different than Twilight. I’d definitely recommend it.
  • I was already looking forward to the new 007 film, Skyfall, but that has only been amplified with the announcement that Adele will be singing the theme song. There have been some pretty spectacular Bond theme songs (I’m partial to “Live and Let Die,” “Nobody Does It Better” and “A View to a Kill”), but I have a hunch that Adele will be the best of them all.

Have a wonderful week, everybody.

One thought on “Pop Culture Odds and Ends – It’s Almost My Birthday edition

  1. Ang says:

    SO much good info here. 🙂

Leave a Reply

