Pop Culture Odds and Ends – Bated Breath Edition

I’m on pins and needles this week as the Major League Baseball regular season comes to a chaotic end. The introduction of an additional wild card slot has thrown everything into a tizzy. The Yankees are definitely in the playoffs, but are still playing for postseason position. I scored tickets to the first Yankee home game of the American League Division Series, but I still don’t know when the game will be (or if the Yankees will get that far) which means I have to keep the next week open to suddenly jet off to the Bronx. I know, I know – these are first world problems. Thankfully I have an awesome boss who’s OK with me skipping work if necessary.  But for someone who is a planner and a little type A, I’m ready for this to be all sorted out.

So while I root against the Orioles, here’s your biweekly round up of pop culture nuggets:

  • So we have our Oscar host and it’s kind of a surprise – Family Guy and Ted’s Seth MacFarlane. I’d better get over my freaking out about Brian the dog’s voice coming out of a human by then.
  • I went to see Paul Thomas Anderson’s new film The Master on Monday night and I’m still not sure what I think about it. The performances were great, but I’m working through the story and what it all means. That movie may be smarter than I am. I’m more a Boogie Nights kind of girl.
  • Some info has been released on the new S.H.I.E.L.D. pilot from Joss Whedon.
  • *Shameless plug* My friend (and pretend cousin) Chris is building and trying to raise funding to develop an app called plygrnd.es for iOS/Android that helps you discover nearby playgrounds and add new ones to share with your friends. You can check it out here.
  • In honor of my newfound love of Once Upon a Time, here’s some Hipster Disney Princesses

 

  • This doesn’t make me happy; Fargo is going to be a TV show. At least the Coen brothers are involved. That gives me some small solace.
  • Taylor Swift really seems to be more trouble than she is worth.
  • Aw man. If you thought I was addicted to the penguin cam, I’m in big trouble with this. Pumpkin (my cat) is not a fan.
  • True confession: I have had “Gangnam Style” stuck in my head all week, thanks to the Dancing With the Stars promos running on ABC that use the song.
  • Big week for Boardwalk EmpireSesame Street did a parody of it. Feast your eyes on “Birdwalk Empire”

 

  • Meryl Streep is in talks to join the upcoming film adaptation of the Broadway play Into the Woods. I love this play, so I’m anxious to see the movie.
  • Patton Oswalt will be appearing on Justified season 4. I like Oswalt a lot; he’s a great comedian and actor. If you haven’t seen him in Big Fan, it’s definitely worth a look.
  • Neil Patrick Harris is writing a memoir. I expect it will be legend…wait for it
  • Someone spliced together every on-air drink on Mad Men. Bottoms up!

 

  • If you are a fan of the TV show Louie, you may get a kick out of the parody twitter account @FakeLouieEps. It’s just what it sounds like – pitches for future (fake) episodes of the show. Hilarious. I should get into the parody twitter account business.
  • Also hilarious – this mash up of Breaking Bad and Calvin and Hobbes (Breaking Calvin).
  • This clown collection is legitimately my worst nightmare. You know who liked clowns? John Wayne Gacy. Thanks to all you hilarious people who sent me this video. You are real comedians.

 

  •  I loved the trailer for the new season of It’s Always Sunny in Philadelphia. Glad to see Haley Joel Osment is still around.

 

  • Speaking of replacements – Mike Love apparently kicked a bunch a people out of The Beach Boys. They found out from a press release.
  • ….ary! Definitely legendary.
  • Poor Justin Bieber. Throwing up on stage is no way to kick off a tour (video is available if you need it)
  • And finally, in advance of my review of Taken 2 on Friday, here’s Liam Neeson: The Musical!
Leave a Reply

