Hurricane Sandy

It doesn’t feel quite right to be writing about pop culture today when so many people are struggling in the aftermath of Hurricane Sandy. My city was basically unscathed by the storm – I think I only saw a few branches down on my morning commute – but so much of the East Coast wasn’t so fortunate. I spend a lot of time in NYC and have many friends in the tri-state area and to see the destruction is really heartbreaking. I feel very lucky today and send my thoughts out to everyone who was impacted.

While extremely trivial compared to the extensive damage that Sandy caused, the storm did impact the world of entertainment. The production of many shows that film in New York City – The Good Wife, Gossip Girl, 666 Park Avenue, 30 Rock and Law & Order: SVU – all were shut down in anticipation of the storm. Many networks opted to pull original programming last night and instead aired re-runs or dedicated time to hurricane coverage. Broadway shows went dark. The Daily Show and The Colbert Report tapings were cancelled, as was the first night of the much hyped week of shows in Brooklyn for Jimmy Kimmel Live (which normally films on the West Coast). Late Night with Jimmy Fallon and The Late Show with David Letterman went on as scheduled, but filmed without an audience. The result was kind of surreal:

While I understand that they felt that the show must go on, I am glad that they did not unnecessarily risk the lives of the audience to do so. I am also very glad that my name wasn’t picked for the lottery for Jimmy Kimmel tickets. I requested them for Friday, but I don’t think I would even be able to get to the city easily by then. Better they go to someone who can use them and who really needs an opportunity to laugh.

New York is a tough city and has come back from worse. They have been through a lot in the last 15 years, but they are resilient. However, they can still use a lot of support. Please consider donating to the Red Cross at www.redcross.org or by phone at 1-800-RED-CROSS (1-800-733-2767). You can also text REDCROSS to 90999 to donate $10. Every bit helps. The East Coast will be back; it just may take a while.

Leave a Reply

