Lost Weekend

To paraphrase a line from the movie Friday, “It’s Friday and I ain’t got sh*t to do.”

For the first time in over a month, I am actually going to be in town this weekend. I’ve been traveling a lot lately (NYC, Rochester/Buffalo and New Jersey) and will be back on the road next weekend with a trip to Boston. But this weekend I have no place that I have to be. My poor car will appreciate the break; it’s in desperate need of an oil change.

Not only am I staying put, but for the first time in forever I don’t have any concrete plans. My calendar is almost 100% free; Sundays are my standing date with my local sports bar, but otherwise the weekend is full of possibility. I’m usually so overbooked and on the run that I find the idea of a weekend like this both enticing and terrifying. It will be nice to have some flexibility, but at the same time I don’t like to have a lot of down time. I like to keep busy.

My main goal for the weekend is to catch up on some pop culture that I haven’t had the time for. The one upside of the networks deciding not to air a lot of new episodes this week in the wake of Hurricane Sandy was that I am actually pretty up to speed with my television schedule. But this weekend will be time to take in some of the other things that I haven’t been able to do. Got to feed the blog machine. Tentatively on the agenda:

  • Finish The Twelve, Justin Cronin’s second book in the trilogy that he started with The Passage. I’m only about 1/5 of the way through it as of now, but I’m a pretty quick reader.
  • Get up to speed with The Walking Dead comics. I’m about 6 issues behind, though I may need to re-read a few to remind myself where I am in the story.
  • Go to the movies. Free screenings have been few and far between lately (though I have one Wednesday that I am super excited for) and other than going to see Night of the Living Dead on Halloween, it’s been a while since I’ve been to the movies (and by a while, I mean my version of a while. Most people don’t go to the movies as much as I do). There are a lot of films out that I want to see and some of them will probably be leaving the theater soon, so I hope to see at least two movies this weekend. Priority goes to Argo, which I have really been dying to see. So hopefully look for a lot of movie reviews next week.
  • Get through my pile of magazines. Somewhere along the line I just started throwing magazines in a pile to read at a later date that never seemed to come. I get a lot of magazines – a lot of them were deals I saw online or that I bought from the children of friends for school fundraisers – so it is very easy to fall behind. I wouldn’t be surprised if somewhere in there is the summer movie preview issue of Entertainment Weekly.
  • Continue my progress on Homeland, season 1. I have been looking forward to watching this show based on all the praise and positive buzz that I’ve heard about it, but somehow have never had the chance to actually sit down and start from the beginning. Last night, with NBC pulling all their comedies, I decided to take the plunge and start watching. I wound up knocking off three episodes last night. My goal is to be done with season one by Monday, which leaves 9 episodes to go.
  • Tonight is the NBC telethon to raise money for Hurricane Sandy relief. It will air 8pm-9pm live on the east coast and on delay elsewhere. It will also be streaming on NBC.com. They have an all-star line-up: Bruce Springsteen, Billy Joel, Jon Bon Jovi, Sting, Christina Aguilera and Jimmy Fallon. Proceeds will be donated to the Red Cross.

I have absolutely no idea if it is even physically possible to get all of this done, but I am going to try my best. At least I get an extra hour with the end of Daylight Savings Time this weekend to work with. I’m guessing I get through about half this list, which is still some progress. Throw into the mix that I really need to do some housework around the apartment and that I want to get some cooking done and my free weekend is suddenly looking not so free. And this entire plan hinges on people not calling me to go for drinks or grab brunch, which hopefully will happen. So there is the distinct possibility that Monday will roll around and I’ve accomplished absolutely nothing. And I’m OK with that

What are your plans for the weekend or what do you look forward to doing with a free weekend? Sound off in the comments below.

2 thoughts on “Lost Weekend

  1. 6 Volt says:

    I enjoy constructing lists and munching on preserved food that would survive nuclear armageddon or a ghoul outbreak, whichever comes first. I know however I would not survive said ghoul outbreak because I would not be able to see in the dark…and some of us know why that is.
    GO IRISH!!!!

  2. Jen Jen says:

    My teen loves the Lizzie Bennet Diaries. I haven’t watched it yet but it sounds fun.

    We spent the weekend rearranging our house. Brian was a military brat and we moved every few years while we were in college. We’ve lived in this house longer than he has ever lived in one place so he was feeling a little antsy. We moved beds around and traded furniture until every room had something “new.” While I like experiencing new things, I prefer my house to remain constant. However, the kids seem excited and we didn’t have to move so I think that’s a win.

Leave a Reply

