Winter Premiere Dates

Now that New Year’s has come and gone, it is back to business as usual for television programming. I must admit, as much as I love my programs, it was nice to have the hiatus. It’s really amazing how much you can get done when you don’t have to keep up with 20 television shows. Though who am I kidding? The holiday break just meant that I went to the movies more often. I didn’t suddenly become more productive; I just found another pop culture diversion for my time.

With the new model for programming, television shows are premiering throughout the year rather than everything starting in the Fall. It’s a model I like, but it does make it a little harder to keep track of when everything airs. So in the spirit of helping out my fellow television junkies, here are some upcoming premiere dates -and a few finales- that you might want to mark on your calendar. (All times are ET)

Monday January 7th

  • The Bachelor, Season 17, 8 pm (ABC) – and yes, I’m secretly judging you if you watch this show and take it seriously. And really – there have been SEVENTEEN seasons of this show? Moving on…..
  • Bunheads, Season 2, 9 pm (ABC Family) – I liked this show just fine when it debuted, but never kept up with it.
  • Deception, 10 pm (NBC) – A new drama on the peacock that features a detective going undercover in a wealth family to solve a murder. Stars a whole lot of people I am not familiar with, as well as The O.C./Damages alum, Tate Donovan. You can watch the pilot episode before it airs on Hulu.com

Tuesday January 8th

  • Justified, Season 4, 10 pm (FX) – Such a fantastic show with fantastic characters. Based on the character from the novels by Elmore Leonard, it is consistently one of the best dramas on network television.

Thursday January 10th

  • 1600 Penn, 9:30 pm (NBC) – I wasn’t too impressed with the pilot that debuted earlier; the first family was just too sitcom-y for my tastes. Plus I’m not a Jenna Elfman fan

Saturday January 12th

  • Cyndi Lauper: Still So Unusual, 9 pm(WE) – The latest celebrity to get their own reality show

Sunday January 13th

  • Girls, Season 2, 9pm (HBO) – I really dug this divisive show and am looking forward to what’s in store in the second season
  • Shameless, Season 3, 9 pm (Showtime) – I always meant to get into this show about a dysfunctional family headed by William H. Macy
  • Enlightened, Season 2, 9:30 pm (HBO)
  • Californication, Season 6, 10:30 pm (Showtime)
  • The 67th Annual Golden Globes, 8 pm (NBC) – You know I’ll be watching. Check out the nominees and my half baked predictions here.

Monday January 14th

  • The Carrie Diaries, 8 pm (The CW) – I long tired of the characters from Sex and the City, but if you can’t get enough you may want to check out this prequel about Carrie’s early life in New York
  • Being Human, Season 3, 8 pm (Syfy)

Wednesday January 16th

  • American Idol, season 12, 8 pm (Fox) – See Mariah Carey and Nicki Minaj battle it out.

Thursday January 17th

  • Anger Management, Season 2, 9 pm (FX) – More of Charlie Sheen being Charlie Sheen
  • Archer, Season 4, 10 pm (FX) – One of the funniest shows, animated or not. An impressive list of guest stars are slated for the upcoming season
  • Legit, 10:30 pm (FX) – This new comedy stars Australian comedian Jim Jefferies, who was hysterically funny when I saw him live last year. The promos don’t make me optimistic, but I’ll give it a shot.

Friday January 18th

  • Fringe Season Finale, 8 pm (FOX) – A show that I have been meaning to wraps up this evening. I’ll have to catch up on DVD.
  • Real Time with Bill Maher, 10 pm (HBO) – The former host of Politically Incorrect returns to once again discuss current affairs with a diverse panel of guests

Saturday January 19th

  • Ripper Street, 9 pm (BBC America) – I’m pretty excited for this new program on BBC America that focuses on the aftermath of the Jack the Ripper murders

Monday January 21st

  • The Following, 9 pm (FOX) – I can’t help but be intrigued by this new drama that features Kevin Bacon on the trail of a serial killer

Tuesday January 22nd

  • Parenthood season finale, 10 pm (NBC) – Very bummed that this show is wrapping up its season so early; I really enjoy spending time with the Braverman clan, though they make me cry every single week
  • Private Practice Series Finale, 10 pm (ABC)

Thursday January 24th

  • Project Runway, Season 11, 9 pm (Lifetime) – Make it work.

Monday January 28th

  • Dallas, Season 2, 9 pm (TNT) – Pay your respects to the recently departed Larry Hagman by spending some time on South Fork
  • RuPaul’s Drag Race, Season 5, 9 PM (LOGO) – If you haven’t checked out this fantastic competition of drag queens, you are really missing out.

Wednesday January 30th

  • The Americans, 10 pm (FX) – I don’t know a ton about this new spy drama, but the cast intrigues me. Plus I’ll almost always take a chance on an FX show. They get me.

Thursday January 31st

  • 30 Rock Series Finale, 8 pm (NBC) – Blerg. It’s all over for Liz Lemon and the gang.
  • Do No Harm, 10 pm (NBC) – I’m skeptical about this new show about a neurosurgeon that has a dangerous alter ego, but I do like the lead actor Steven Pasquele, best known from Rescue Me

That should at least get you through January. Of course, I didn’t catch all the shows that are returning; for a more comprehensive listing for winter programming check out TVline.com’s handy dandy calendar. Get your DVRs ready – television is back!

2 thoughts on “Winter Premiere Dates

  1. javaj240 says:

    I can barely get through Downton Abbey and Justified… I never heard of Bunheads… And, like you, I, too, am intrigued by The Americans. We shall see.

  2. Ang says:

    I’m most looking forward to Being Human coming back. And how Fringe ends. I think I’ll check out The Following & The Americans.

Leave a Reply

