Golden Globe Winners and Oscar Nominations

I had every intention of watching the Golden Globes last night – I even rushed home so I wouldn’t miss it – but one hour into the program I feel asleep on the couch and missed the rest of the telecast. I wasn’t really that into it to begin with; what I saw of Tina Fey and Amy Poehler was funny (I chuckled when they referred to Bill Clinton as “Hilary Clinton’s husband” and said of director Kathryn Bigelow “When it comes to torture, I trust the lady who was married for three years to James Cameron.” ), but just before I fell asleep I realized that I didn’t want to have to sit through two more hours of the rest of it. So falling asleep made the decision for me. Based on the banter I saw on Facebook this morning about the ceremony, I didn’t miss too much other than the possible drunk Jodie Foster. Of course, this also meant that I woke up at 1 am and was able to get back to sleep for the rest of the night, so perhaps I angered the Golden Globe gods with my disinterest.

I actually did fairly well with my Golden Globe predictions; out of the 25 various categories, I guessed 14 of them correctly. I did not see the Hollywood Foreign Press Association’s infatuation with the HBO show Girls coming, nor did I think that they would recognize the greatness that is Argo. I was pretty sure that Damian Lewis would win for Homeland, but I just couldn’t bring myself to pick him as I didn’t think he or the show were particularly good in their second season. But I did foresee that the HFPA would be total suckers for everything Les Miserables; years of watching the Golden Globes led me to believe that they would be drawn to a musical.

If you are only interested in the Tina Fey/Amy Poehler parts of the Golden Globes ceremony, Flavorwire has created a supercut that might me just what you are looking for:

 

If fashion is more your thing, you can see who the LA Times, E! Online, The Huffington Post and Us Magazine picked as their best dressed.

While I don’t take the Golden Globes all that seriously, the Academy Awards are a horse of a different color. I get really excited for the Oscar nominations; when they were announced on Thursday, I was like a kid at Christmas. Most of my predictions of who would be nominated were pretty right on, though as I wrote in my review of Zero Dark Thirty I think that Kathryn Bigelow and Ben Affleck were the biggest snubs with their omission for the Best Director category. Since we know don’t know how many Best Picture nominees there will be every year –there will be a minimum of five and a maximum of ten, but the final tally usually varies between these two extremes – it is exciting to see what films make the cut. Unlike last year, there aren’t any films nominated for Best Picture that I am dreading seeing; I’m actually pretty close to having seen them all. I just have Les Miserables and Amour outstanding and I am planning to see Les Mis on Wednesday. Amour doesn’t come to our local art house theater until the beginning of February, so I have to be patient.

This year, I’ve decided to up the ante and I’m trying to see literally everything that is nominated. In previous years I would see all the Best Picture nominees as well as all the major acting categories, but I wanted to give myself a challenge. I’ve actually already seen most of the movies anyway, so it really isn’t that much of a leap. I’ve already identified where I’m going to run into trouble: the foreign language and documentary categories. The foreign language films are tough to track down as many of them are not out on DVD, streaming, or On Demand. I ‘m not sure exactly how I’m going to beat this – if they aren’t available, there isn’t too much I can do about it – but I’m working on figuring something out. All of the long form documentaries are easily found – three of them are streaming on Amazon, Hulu Plus and Netflix and one will be out on DVD next week – with the exception of one (The Gatekeepers). Everything else I think I have under control; the animated shorts, documentary shorts and live action short will all be shown in the area in the next few weeks, so they are taken care of. The documentary shorts are actually showing the day of the Oscar telecast, so I’ll be squeezing that in at literally the last minute. I’m kind of fudging best original song a little bit – one of the nominated films is not looking like it will be available (Chasing Ice), but I did hear the nominated song online. So I’m counting that. My life would really be easier if they would make me a member of the Academy and sent me screeners, though it is kind of fun trying to come up with a strategy to watch all the films before February 24th.

Some other quick thoughts about the Oscar nominations:

  • It’s been twelve years since a foreign language film has cracked the Best Picture nominees. The last time it occurred was in 2000 with Crouching Tiger, Hidden Dragon. It happened two times in the 1990s – Life is Beautiful in 1998 and Il Postino in 1995 – and then you have to go back to the 1970s for it to happen again.
  • Beasts of the Southern Wild’s nine year old Quvenzhané Wallis is the youngest Best Actress nominee ever, but not the youngest nominee of all time. That honor belongs to Justin Henry (Kramer vs. Kramer), who was 8 years and 276 days old when he was recognized for Best Supporting Actor in 1980. Shirley Temple was 6 years old when she won an Academy Juvenile Award in 1935.
  • The War Horse award for the movie that I am annoyed that it was nominated because now I have to see it goes this year to Mirror, Mirror (Costume Design). I’ll watch it, but I won’t be happy about it.
  • I’ve added a new category for blog posts – Oscar nominees 2013 – and have coded all the movies that I have reviewed that were nominated this year. It felt weird to add Ted and Snow White and the Huntsman to that list.
  • People are already freaking out about how Seth MacFarlane is going to do as a host based on how he did with announcing the nominations. I think this is all a little premature, but then again, I also thought that James Franco wouldn’t be a terrible host.
  • I knocked three movies off my list this weekend (Anna Karenina, Beasts of the Southern Wild and Five Broken Cameras). If you are interested in my progress, you can check it out here.
  • I’ll make some Oscar predictions closer to the date of the Awards Ceremony.

What did you think of the Golden Globes? Any Oscar predictions? Sound off in the comments section.

Leave a Reply

