Pop Culture Odds and Ends – Blog’s Birthday Edition

It’s hard to believe it, but tomorrow will be the one year anniversary of As Heather’s World Turns. Time flies when you’ve having fun. In some ways I feel like I’ve been blogging forever, yet it also doesn’t feel like I’ve chronicled a year of my pop culture consumption.

To kick off the second year of As Heather’s World Turns, I’ve added some additional ways that you can keep up with the blog. The blog now has its own Twitter account (@AsHeathersWorldTurns) that you can follow and I’ve created a Facebook page for the blog. Both are a work in progress, but I’ll post and tweet all my new blog posts from these accounts as well as any interesting pop culture stories that I find throughout the week. So please feel free to follow and like respectively.

Now on to the pop culture stories you may have missed in the last two weeks:

  • ABC has pulled Don’t Trust the B in Apt 23 from the schedule and there are no immediate plans to air the remaining episodes. Though there is no official word from the network, James Van der Beek tweeted that the show has “basically been cancelled.” ABC will air two episodes of Happy Endings on Tuesday nights until Dancing with the Stars begins in March.
  • I have discovered the website www.Citizenbrick.com that has customized Lego figures that bear a striking resemblance to some of my pop culture favorites. I’m guessing Omar Little and Walter White will find their way to my desk sometime soon.
  • A “lost” episode of Dexter’s Lab has been released; the episode never aired because of the excessive swearing (though it is all bleeped), so it’s NSFW and not especially kid friendly:

 

  • I thought this was cute – two fans of the show 30 Rock sat outside of Silvercup Studios to see if they could get members of the cast to high five them:

 

  • A spin-off of The Vampire Diaries, centered around Klaus and the Originals, is in development. I will totally watch this.
  • In honor of the 25th anniversary of Die Hard, Fox Studies is unveiling a giant mural on their lot. Die Hard 5 (A Good Day to Die Hard) will be released February 14th.
  • I tuned in Monday night to watch Kevin Bacon’s new serial killer themed drama, The Following. I wasn’t completely bowled over – it was a bit clichéd, they really hit you over the head with the Edgar Allen Poe references and some of the supporting cast isn’t very good – but there was enough there that I’ll tune in for a while to see where it goes.
  • Kris Kross is reuniting. That makes me want to jump, jump.
  • Charm City Cakes in Baltimore, featured on the program Ace of Cakes, made a pretty cool cake for President Obama’s inauguration.
  • I was also sad to hear that Conrad Bain, Mr. Drummond on Diff’rent Strokes, passed away.
  • Jerry Seinfeld and the rapper Wale will collaborate. I don’t get it either, but I’m intrigued.

Tina Fey takes you on a tour of Liz Lemon’s office.

 

  • Proving why he is awesome, Michael J. Fox admits that he wouldn’t be thrilled if his son dated Taylor Swift. Apparently Fox later apologized to Swift because she said he reached out to her and thanked her fans for “having her back” – against a fifty year old man with Parkinson’s. Taylor Swift is the worst; thanks for nothing Kanye. You created this monster.
  • In other TNT news, they have picked up a Rebecca Romjin PI drama and a pilot for a Geena Davis bounty hunter show.
  • My pal Michael K. Williams will play Ol’ Dirty Bastard in an upcoming film. Check out his skills on Brooklyn Zoo at a recent benefit show (NSFW). I wasn’t impressed.

 

  • My prediction about what would happen on American Horror Story: Asylum came true.
  • I love Jennifer Lawrence, but last week’s episode of SNL wasn’t good.
  • You can check out a very cool version of the script for Moonrise Kingdom here.
  • I was pleasantly surprised with the new Jim Jefferies comedy, Legit. It was mostly material from his stand-up, so I’m curious what the show will be like once it features more original material.
  • Marcia Gay Harden will replace Rosemarie DeWitt on The Newsroom.
  • And finally…..enjoy this Toy Story recreation with real toys.

Leave a Reply

