Odds and Ends Special Edition: Blerg! The End of 30 Rock

“That’s our show, America. Not a lot of people watched it, but joke’s on you. We still got paid” – 30 Rock finale

“Live every week like it’s Shark Week.” – Tracy Jordan

Artwork by Tyler Feder

Artwork by Tyler Feder

Sadly last night was the series finale for 30 Rock, a show that is consistently among my favorite things on TV. It was a great seven season run, but I’m glad that they decided to “shut it down” on their own terms and while the show was still so funny.  30 Rock never did all that well in the ratings, which is a real shame, but for the critics and loyal fans who loved it, it will be missed.

Few sitcoms cram the number of jokes into on episode as 30 Rock. They came at you rapid fire and if you aren’t paying attention, you’ll miss a lot. I’ve had to watch episodes multiple times to get all the references and hilarious throwaway lines. For my money, 30 Rock is also one of the most quotable shows; I’m guilty of using “What the what?” all the time, though often no one knows what I’m talking about. I also frequently use “In five years, we’ll all either be working for him…..or dead by his hand” and people just think I’m clever. They have no idea that I’m ripping off 30 Rock.

So in honor of this great show riding off into the sunset, here’s a special all 30 Rock roundup of all the tributes and fun facts about the show that have hit the internet in the last 48 hours.

Don’t watch 30 Rock? I’ve got you covered. Distract yourself with this live feed of the Puppy Bowl locker room. Totes adorbs.

  • Ben and Jerry’s unveiled their 30 Rock inspired flavor last night and –surprise! – it wasn’t ice cream, but one of their new Greek frozen yogurts (which are also quite tasty). I was surprised that they weren’t a little more creative (and I’m a little skeptical of the lavender), but I’ll definitely be giving this a try when it comes out this spring.

Liz Lemon

  • If you missed the quick shot of Kenneth’s list of TV No-No words, Vulture has you covered with the complete list. I wonder what Justin Bartha did to get on there.

a_560x0

 

  • Check out Weird Al doing his version of the 30 Rock credits:

 

  • The Jack Donaghy Insult Generator. I’m particularly fond of “That’s what I’m talking about. Empathy. It’s about as useless as the Winter Olympics.”
  • Sh*t Liz Lemon says:

 

  • When you inevitably re-watch the finale, videogum has a drinking game for you.

Mickey

  • Check out Vulture’s list of the 10 best, most obscure characters from the 30 Rock universe.  I’d forgotten about some of these people. My favorite was Garkel:

 

  • League of Extraordinary Gentleman comic book artist Alex Ross gave the 30 Rock characters a LXG makeover:

the-league-of-extraordinary-30-rock-23030-1311273743-36

 

  • A supercut of one of my favorite characters, Dot Com:

 

  • Here are the lyrics to the epic Rural Juror song, which was one of my favorite callbacks in last night’s finale:
The Irma Luhrman-Merman murder
Turned the bird’s word lurid
The whir and the purr of a twirler girl
She would the world were demurer
The insurer’s allure
For valor were pure Kari Wuhrer
One fervid whirl over her turgid error
Rural juror
Rural juror
I will never forget you
Rural juror
I’ll always be glad I met you
Rural juror
I will never forget you
Rural juror
I’ll always be glad I met you
Rural juror (x2)
These were the best days of my flerm.
  • And finally, Tracy Morgan serenading his cast members on Late Night with Jimmy Fallon:

 

Thanks for the memories, 30 Rock!

30 Rock - Season 7

Leave a Reply

