Pop Culture Valentine’s Day

My Valentine’s Day is already off to a super start – I brought in donuts for all my co-workers (I am convinced that the Dunkin Donuts brownie batter donut was sent here to destroy me) and I bought myself the Die Hard movie collection on Blu-ray for a steal on Amazon.com. It really doesn’t take much to make me happy.

Regardless of my relationship status, I’ve always kind of liked Valentine’s Day. While it is definitely a commercial holiday, it’s a nice reminder to stop and tell people how much they mean to you. Plus I can firmly get behind any holiday that prominently features chocolate. Since my senior year of college, I’ve appreciated Valentine’s Day for another reason – I’m just happy to be alive. The boiler on our sorority house almost exploded early on the morning of February 14th. Thankfully, it gave off so much steam that it actually set off the smoke detectors in our house, so everyone was evacuated safely and nothing actually blew up. But every Valentine’s Day serves as a nice reminder that things could have ended very differently, especially for those of us living on the first floor. And now it is just a hilarious story to tell.

The world of pop culture certainly embraces Valentine’s Day – most sitcoms have themed episodes this week, except for poor Community, who is airing a Halloween episode tonight because of the delay to their season. Safe Harbor and Beautiful Creatures both open today at the cinema, taking advantage of national date night. Somewhere, Taylor Swift is falling in love with the subject of her next hit single. In honor of the holiday, I’ve scoured the interwebs for some of other pop culture expressions of love out there:

gob1

 

  • Paste magazine rounded up 15 of the greatest love confessions in film and TV. I love that a scene from Oz makes the list. Who doesn’t think of prison relationships when they think of love?
  • Also from Paste – six valentine’s based on creepy love songs. Seriously people, “Every Breath You Take” by The Police is NOT romantic. Stop using it as a wedding song.
  • Django Unchained’s Christopher Waltz taught “the art of seduction” on last night’s Jimmy Kimmel Live!

 

  • Who knew Will Ferrell kissed so many women? Here’s a montage:

 

  • An animated history of Valentine’s Day:

 

a_560x0

  • McSweeney’s has a funny list of rom.coms – fake movies inspired by the internet. I might actually go see She’s All Angry Birds.

1762645

  • The Huffington Post has 14 Famous love-filled movie lines, including the dreadful “Love means never having to say you’re sorry” and my least favorite line of all time, “I’m also just a girl, standing in front of a boy, asking him to love her” from Notting Hill.
  • Kids explaining Valentine’s Day:

 

love-and-gdp

  • Last night Jimmy Fallon “found” some more videos from the time Studio 6B was home to a dating service:

 

Happy Valentine’s Day!

 

2 thoughts on “Pop Culture Valentine’s Day

  1. I will right away grasp your rss feed as I can not in
    finding your e-mail subscription hyperlink or newsletter
    service. Do you have any? Please permit me realize so that I may just subscribe.
    Thanks.

    • heather7180 says:

      You can receive emails of all new blog posts by clicking the Follow button under the Follow Blog via Email section. Blog posts are also posted on Twitter, Facebook and Tumblr.

Leave a Reply

