What’s Making Me Happy

I routinely listen to the NPR podcast Pop Culture Happy Hour; it’s a great show that discusses pop culture in a smart way and introduces me to a lot of pop culture goodness that I might not otherwise be exposed to. Their areas of interest don’t line up neatly with mine, so I may hear about an old movie or a book that somehow wasn’t on my radar. Every week, they end the show by the foursome going around the table and saying what pop culture related things are making them happy that week. This is traditionally my favorite part of the show and where I get most of my recommendations.

I’m going to steal borrow that idea for today’s post; I’ve been feeling pretty yucky this week from what I assume are allergies. It doesn’t help matters that I discovered this morning that I’ve been accidentally taking a 12-hour allergy pill rather than the 24 hour version, which certainly explains the trouble I’ve had sleeping. Because I don’t feel well, I’ve been tired and a little cranky all week so I especially appreciate the things that have made me smile and momentarily lift my spirits between coughing and sneezing. I love spring, but I don’t love pollen.

Things making Heather happy:

John Krasinski and Jimmy Fallon Lip Sync Battle (Late Night with Jimmy Fallon)

Now, I love these two guys separately, but putting them together and having them lip sync has given me the biggest smile that I’ve had all week. I am not surprised that Fallon was so great at this, but seeing that Krasinksi was willing to have fun with it made my day. Plus Krasinski in now sporting an amazing beard and ?estlove gives the best reaction shots.

 

Jennifer Lawrence Photobombing Sarah Jessica Parker at the Met Gala

anigif_enhanced-buzz-11281-1367961003-26

 

I’m not sure if life is a contest, but if it is I’m pretty sure Jennifer Lawrence is beating us all. (You may have to click on the photo to get the GIF to animate – I’m working on that)

Auto-tuned Charles Ramsey

The interview that Charles Ramsey gave about his role in saving Amanda Berry, Georgina DeJesus and Michelle Knight has been making the rounds, but I think it is even better when it gets the autotune treatment

 

New Music

I’m not usually up on music being released, but so far I am really digging the new album by Fitz and the Tantrums (released 5/7), Natalie Maines (former lead singer of the Dixie Chicks) new solo album, Mother (released 5/7) and the new Vampire Weekend album (out 5/14 and currently streaming on iTunes).

Leinenkugel’s Summer Shandy

This isn’t the best beer out there by a long shot, but it’s a great beer for the summer. In my opinion, putting lemonade and beer together is genius. I got to enjoy a few of these over the weekend and it matched the weather and my mood perfectly.

summershandy-bottle-pour

Pete Campbell Falling Down the Stairs (Mad Men)

There was a lot to love about last Sunday’s episode of Mad Men, especially Joan’s speech to Don, but Pete Campbell falling down the stairs will just never not be funny to me. Pete is the worst. (Again – you may have to click on the photo to get it to work)

a_560x375

 

What pop culture related things are making you happy this week? Let us know in the comments below.

One thought on “What’s Making Me Happy

  1. ADF says:

    Dead Giveaway!

Leave a Reply

