C’mon Get Happy

It’s been a stressful few weeks for me here at the ol’ day job; while I am grateful and appreciative that I’ve been promoted, it’s been an adjustment period as I get used to spinning a lot more plates at the same time. I am tremendously lucky that they created a new position for me based on what I said I was interested in doing, but I’ve also been putting tremendous pressure on myself to prove that I deserve this faith being instilled in me. Being giving a blank piece of paper to define a position however you want is a true luxury, but it also can be extremely daunting, especially for a person like me who holds herself to ridiculously high standards and is my own worst critic. Uncertainty and a type A personality aren’t a great combo, nor am I one to delegate to someone else. Add in the fact that I’ve been out of the office a lot for meetings and that it’s been difficult to get some of the necessary information I need to do my job and things were sort of at a boiling point last week. It’s sorting itself out and I’m adapting, but for a while there it was just really nerve-wracking. Change and I are not pals and I hate not having control.

One of the things that helped me get through this stressful time was music. Everyone has a list of songs that simply make them happy; they aren’t necessarily your favorite songs or even necessarily good songs. You may recognize that these songs aren’t all that artistic and that they might even be cheesy. But for whatever reason, these songs are the best remedy to a bad mood; they make you smile when you don’t want to and by the time the lyrics come to an end you already feel yourself feeling just a little bit better. These songs are an instant mood booster; sometimes in life you just have to dance it out. I’ve never seen anyone stay mad or upset after a mad phat dance party.

 

These are the songs that, for whatever reason, do that for me. There’s no real logic to it; I couldn’t break it down and explain it for you if I tried. I can’t distill why these songs do it for me and other similar songs don’t. All I know is that if I throw these tunes on, suddenly a terrible, horrible, no good, very bad day suddenly doesn’t seem quite as bad.

  • Don’t Stop Believin’” – Journey

 

Almost any Journey song would work in a pinch, but if you have real issues you have to go the granddaddy of all Journey songs.  The smart guys I’ve dated have known that if they put this song on, whatever I as annoyed with them about will suddenly be forgotten (I’m not joking – this has happened). If they just played “Don’t Stop Believin’” on a loop in the Middle East that might solve all problems. This is my absolute go-to song after a really crappy day.

 

  • Crush” – Dave Matthews Band

 

  • “Mr. Jones” – Counting Crows

 

  • “Blurred Lines” – Robin Thicke featuring T.I. and Pharrell

 

  • “Rosalita (Come Out Tonight)” and “Glory Days” – Bruce Springsteen and the E Street Band

 

 

The Boss gets two songs on this list – anyone who has a problem with that should meet me out back.

 

  • “Supernatural Superserious” – R.E.M.

 

  • “Something to Talk About” – Bonnie Raitt

 

  • “The Way We Move” – Langhorne Slim & the Law

 

  • “Call Me Maybe” – Carly Rae Jepsen

 

Yes – I know this song is silly and has been overplayed, but I still like it. So there.

 

  • “California Love” – Tupac

 

  • “Rich Girl” – Hall and Oates

 

  • “Tell Her About It” – Billy Joel

 

  • “Back in the New York Groove” – Ace Frehley

 

  • “Good Vibrations” – Marky Mark and the Funky Bunch

 

  • “Touch of Grey” – Grateful Dead

 

I know that this is the most “mainstream” of the Dead songs, but it was my first real exposure to the band and I still think it is a great song.

 

I could go on and on, but that’s a good collective sampling of the music that is on my “C’mon Get Happy” playlist on my iPod (and I’ve frankly embarrassed myself enough for one day).  I’m not necessarily proud of some of these songs, but they get the job done when they are needed. I’m actually in a better mood just writing about these tunes. Every once in a while you just have to bust a move to work things out of your system.  Look how blissed out these guys are:

 

What are your go to happy songs? Sound off in the comments below – and do not judge me on this list. You have to go with what speaks to the soul and apparently what speaks to me is some songs that are questionable in quality.

Leave a Reply

