Jimmy Kimmel Live! and the twerking video seen round the world

Well played, Jimmy Kimmel. Well played indeed.

For the last week, a video of a woman accidentally setting herself on fire in a twerking attempt gone awry has gone viral. In the aftermath of Miley Cyrus’ VMA performance, apparently people had twerking on the brain, as I saw the video posted and re-posted on various websites and Facebook pages. In the video, a woman is leaning against a door to twerk upside down, when someone opens the door causing her to crash through a coffee table. Her yoga pants catch on fire from the candles that were on said coffee table and the video abruptly cuts off as she is screaming and her friend is freaking out.

 

It was indeed hilarious and was almost too perfect. What were the chances that all those things would conspire together in that way to create what was called “the most epic twerking fail of all time?”

The answer is that they wouldn’t. The whole thing was fake. That wasn’t just any young woman, but a stunt person who was trained to take such a fall without hurting herself. The mastermind behind the video was revealed last night to be none other than late night host and all-around funny guy Jimmy Kimmel.

 

Now I was suspicious of the video from the get go and my antenna was up when I heard that the woman in the video was appearing on Jimmy Kimmel Live! It seemed like an odd booking when it was announced, but I didn’t put all the pieces together until I saw the segment. The way that everyone fell for it, hook line and sinker, including multiple new outlets, was nothing short of inspired. I’ve seen a lot of pranks in my day, but this one may very well have to take the cake. It really was genius.

Jimmy Kimmel – I think you have just earned a season pass on my DVR. I was already a fan after you let Matt Damon take over your show, but this solidifies it. I’m not abandoning my man Fallon; for a few months longer you won’t be in direct time slot competition, so I don’t have to feel guilty. But I appreciate a well-crafted joke and it really doesn’t get much better than this. You trolled the entire Internet and won. For that, I have to tip my cap.

Your move, Fallon.

Jimmy Kimmel Live! airs weeknights at 11:30 pm on ABC.

Leave a Reply

