Timberlake Tuesdays

I have been feeling under the weather for over a week now, but have simply not had the time to get sick. We have way too much going on at work and I had too much scheduled in my social life to give in to whatever it is that is making me feel lousy. It’s not bad enough that I need to take a day from work, but I’m far from 100%. Still, I try to ignore the nausea and general exhaustion and soldier on. I’m such a trooper.

Last night, in an attempt to finally get over whatever it is that is trying to break my stride, I went to bed ridiculously early (for me). I’m usually up until at least 11 pm, but last night I decided to try turning in shortly after 9. I fell right to sleep, which was great; unfortunately, when Pumpkin the cat woke me up with his shenanigans around 4 am, I couldn’t go back to sleep. At all. After about 45 minutes of lying there, wide awake, I gave up and decided to watch some TV. After watching an episode of both The Daily Show and The Colbert Report, I turned my attention over to my pal Fallon to see what he was up to.

After his usual monologue, I was surprised when they came back from the commercial that the show came back to a black screen that said “The Evolution of End Zone Dancing;” this isn’t normally the way that the show segues into the last segment before the guests. Fallon had done “The Evolution of Mom Dancing” with First Lady Michelle Obama a few months ago, so this wasn’t completely unprecedented; however, Obama wasn’t a surprise as she had been announced as a guest. Looking at the guests for last night’s show, I doubted that Michelle Pfeiffer or David Cross would be participating in this (though Cross would have been funny). Before I could figure out who it could be – perhaps an NFL player? – the mystery was solved when none other than Jimmy’s BFF, Justin Timberlake, popped out to dance with Fallon.

 

At the end of the segment, Jimmy announced that for the rest of September, Timberlake will be making an appearance on Late Night every Tuesday. And while I have loved all their collaborations and think that they make a wonderful team who clearly enjoy working together, I do worry that they may wind up going to this particular well too often. Timberlake has made several appearances on the show – we had Timber-week earlier this year when Timberlake was on every night of Late Night for an entire week (which was also re-run over the summer) – and the two have created some very memorable moments (The History of Rap I, II, III and IV being the most popular). I am concerned that the increased frequency of Timberlake’s appearances will make them feel routine and less special. Had I been more fully lucid when watching the episode – I was both tired and wide awake at the same time, the most frustrating of combinations – I should have easily predicted that Timberlake would be the surprise participant. He has a new movie coming out with Ben Affleck (Runner Runner – the previews do not look promising) as well as the second volume of The 20/20 Experience dropping on September 30th. His appearances tend to coincide with him having something to promote and this is a big month for him.

So while I will look forward to the next few Tuesdays to see what this duo is up to, I do hope that Timberlake disappears from Late Night with Jimmy Fallon for a while. I don’t want him to never do the show again, but his appearances will be more exciting when they happen less frequently. Jimmy may want to tuck away his very popular and famous pal until he takes over The Tonight Show early next year and may need the extra little push in the ratings. You don’t want to give Leno any ideas by not coming out of the gate strong. Look what happened to poor Conan. I don’t begrudge anyone hanging out with their friend, but too much of something isn’t always a good thing. In the words of the great philosophers Cobra Starship “You Can’t Be Missed If You Never Go Away.”

Late Night with Jimmy Fallon airs weeknights at 12:35 am on NBC. Timberlake will appear on September 17th and 24th.

Leave a Reply

