Heather’s Emmy Diary

I generally hate the Emmys; of all the awards shows, they are the one that I think most consistently get the winners wrong. Emmy voters tend to reward the same people over and over and often celebrate the one person in the category that you were surprised was nominated to begin with (Jon Cryer, anyone?). I can never forgive an institution that failed to recognize The Wire. But I do enjoy Neil Patrick Harris a great deal and think that he is a tremendous host. He’s made the Tonys a great award show to watch, even if you don’t know much about Broadway shows. So it was the affection I have for NPH that got me to tune in, not the actual awards. I kept a running diary of my thoughts as the ceremony unfolded.

Here we go……

  • Supercuts – I approve
  • Is this the first time that Baba Booey  got a shout out during the Emmys?

 

  • Yay – Kimmel is getting involved.
  • FALLON!
  • BIG ovation for Conan. Nice to see all the late night hosts playing nice.
  • Very enjoyable House of Cards spoof.
  •  Tina and Amy – fantastic. Give them the Golden Globes again.

amy and tina

gif_330x300_475406

  • Hey – they gave their popcorn to Matt Damon.

gif_330x300_32c45c

  • Great stage entrance – I assume that was in homage to Jennifer Lawrence.

gif_300x300_d2784e

  • Outstanding Supporting Actress in Comedy – Mayim Bialik is my pick. But holy hell there are a LOT of nominees in this category.
  • Whoa – Merritt Wever for Nusrse Jackie. The only show I don’t watch regularly. It’s nice to see Edie Falco so proud of her co-star.
  • Her speech was succinct.

gif_300x300_9d3cba

  • Ooohh… I like Malin Akerman’s dress. LL Cool J is a handsome man, but enough with these hats already.

181602534

  • I like these comedy writer nominees bits. I’m guessing Tina Fey will win since this was the last season of 30 Rock. Emmy voters love to recognize that stuff.
  • Rural Janitor? Did these idiots mean Rural Juror?
  • Ha! Tina: “No one said you could talk.”

 

  • NPH getting a little saucy with that Thailand joke.
  • Ugh – the Deschanel sisters. Not a fan.

Zooey-Deschanel-Emmy-Awards-2013-Pictures

  • Outstanding supporting actor in a comedy series – I’ve got Tony Hale. All the Modern Family cast will cancel each other out. Plus he’s great on Veep.
  • I was right – Buster Bluth is an Emmy winner! Hooray.
  • Robin Williams’ tribute to Jonathan Winters. This could go either way; he really just can’t contain himself sometimes even with the best intentions.
  • I don’t know how I feel about these individuals memorials. This seems more like a popularity contest than usual. Plus all this time dwelling on death is kind of downer for an awards ceremony.

 

  • OMG – Jon Hamm is gorgeous even with a beard. I normally wouldn’t consider myself a beard person, but between this and Joe Manganiello, I may have to reconsider.

867ca091e0e975c0_181598502.preview_tall

  • Outstanding Actress in a Comedy Series – no idea. This could go many different ways.
  • Julia Louis-Dreyfus. Can’t argue with that. Big night for Veep – and I love Tony Hale coming up with her. They accept in character. Outstanding!

 

  • Margo Martindale and Will Arnett  – two people trapped in a really terrible CBS comedy. They don’t even get to present real awards – just the awards that were already given out.
  • What is Melissa Leo wearing? I’m not even sure if all of those colors go together.

ad_116445007-e1379937840108

  • Best directing in a comedy series goes to Gail Manciso for Modern Family. Ugh – the Modern Family obsession at the Emmys continues. But interesting that she is only the second woman to ever win .
  • “Happiest night of her life” – I wonder how her husband and kids feel about that.
  • I love “Blurred Lines” as much as the next person, but I don’t know that it should get mentioned in an Emmy acceptance speech.
  • They are playing people off very quickly – not a fan.
  • Sofía Vergara looks amazing as usual.

65th Annual Primetime Emmy Awards - Arrivals

  • Best actor in a comedy series – I’ve got Jim Parsons (Louis C.K. should win, but Emmy voters are conservative and predictable)
  • Yup – I was right. I like Parsons and his portrayal of Sheldon, but I think the character is getting too cartoony.
  • Carl Reiners with the Jean Stapleton memorial – I loved her as Edith Bunker.
  • He’s getting emotional, which is making me emotional.

 

  • This is a terrible transition. You shouldn’t do a promo after a memorial – especially with an older gentleman like Bob Newhart. That’s just tacky.
  • Michael Douglas and Matt Damon , here to introduce a Liberace tribute by Elton John.
  • This is fine and all, but they really should use this time to let award winners speak, not to honor a guy who died 25 years ago just because he happened to be the subject of an HBO movie (which only showed on HBO because theaters wouldn’t distribute it)
  • Plus – I’m kind of over Elton John. I’m fast forwarding through this.

 

  • Outstanding Lead Actress in a Mini-series – I hope it is Elizabeth Moss for Top of the Lake.
  • Blah – Laura Linney. I’m sure she was fine, but Moss deserved this.
  • No Jason Segal in this HIMYM bit? I call shenanigans.
  • There he is – um…he looks kind of terrible. Is he sick? Something is off here.
  • This is cute, but this is going on a little long.
  • Ha – “The Ryan Seacrest Center for Excessive Hosting.”

 

  • Connie Britton – Love her. She has the best hair on television.
  • They should have given her better material – their patter was particularly awful.
  • Outstanding writing in a drama series – this has to be Breaking Bad, no?
  • I guess no – Homeland wins.
  • Awww….the guy who won passed away and his widow is accepting his award. This is touching and also means that the speech will probably be pretty short.
  • Yup – simple and short.
  • Outstanding Supporting Actress in a Drama Series – I don’t want to pick between Christina Hendricks and Anna Gunn, which may be moot since I’m guessing this goes to Maggie Smith.
  • Hot damn! Anna Gunn won! So deserved. I like her dress a lot too.

 

  • Umm orchestra – I don’t suggest playing this woman off – Cranston may get all Heisenberg on you.
  • OK – I have a real beef with this Corey Monteith tribute. I am sad that he died and I liked him a lot, but he in no way accomplished enough to deserve this kind of prominenece. The other people had a lifetime of work and created seminal characters – Glee is kind of a stupid show and Monteith’s acting career was just beginning. His death was shocking, but this is not appropriate.

 

  • Song and dance time with NPH
  • That was impressive tumbling.
  • Again – this is all fine and good, but the time should go to winners.
  • Nathan FIllion – I’m suddenly OK with this number.

nathan

 

  • Best reality show – Yawn.
  • The Voice wins – hooray I guess.
  • How far away were The Voice team sitting that it took them that log to get to the stage?
  • Diahann Carroll and Kerry Washington – did all presenters have head shots when they came out? I didn’t notice them before.
  • Whoa – BURN on Lloyd Nolan, who Carroll apparently didn’t think was very attractive. That’s cold, woman.
  • Kerry Washington looks a little nervous. Perhaps Carroll is a wild card.
  • Supporting Actor in a drama series – love a lot of people in this category, but got to go with Aaron Paul.
  • Bobby Canavale? That, right there, is some bullsh*t. No offense to Mr. Cannavale, who I do like, but you cannot compare anything on Boardwalk Empire to the genius of Breaking Bad. Terrible, terrible choice.
  • Outstanding Lead Actor in a Drama Series – I’m so thrown by the winner of the last category that I now have NO idea who wins this. Should be Cranston (or my man Hamm) but I have lost my faith in Emmy voters.
  • JEFF DANIELS??!?!???! WTF EMMY VOTERS? Newsroom is a terrible show and while I got no beef with Daniels, this is an outrage. I literally threw the remote across the room.
  • Seriously – is this some kind of joke? Are these the bizarro awards? When do they give out the real Emmys?
  • Maybe this award show is really Kimmel’s greatest prank ever.
  • This YouTube video sums up how I feel right now:

 

  • Wait – what is happening? Are we doing a memorial to JFK now? Nothing would surprise me at this point.
  • I forgot that JFK, Jr. spent his third birthday at his father’s funeral. That really makes my own crappy birthday not look so bad.
  • Now we’re talking about The Beatles – what year is this?
  • Carrie Underwood singing “Yesterday” – this whole segment is a hodgepodge, a mess and a waste of my time.
  • More Fallon – this is an improvement.
  • The moving microphone – not a new bit, but still amusing.

gif_300x300_de5be5

  • Lead actress in a Drama – I’m guessing Claire Danes.
  • Whew – the Emmys have gotten back on script. Not who I would have picked (again – got to love Elizabeth Moss), but this makes sense.
  • Nice tribute by Danes to the deceased Homeland writer.
  • It is weird to see Emilia Clarke with her dark hair. I’m used to Khalessi being a blonde. I can’t even begin to imagine Dean Norris with hair.

emilia-clarke-emmys-2013-with-breaking-bads-dean-norris

  • Best guest actor and actress in a drama series – these were actually already awarded, but I have no idea who won. I’m surprised that Burt Cooper is considered a guest role on Mad Men. No idea on the actors, but Margo Martindale was epic on The Americans.
  • Wrong again – Carrie Preston for The Good Wife (a show that I admittedly do not watch). She’s also on True Blood, so this is kind of a surprise as she isn’t that amazing on that show. But good on her, I guess.
  • Well these people got something right – a standing ovation for first time Emmy winner Bob Newhart. Well deserved.

 

  • Best writing in a variety series – oh man, these are all my babies.
  • Colbert beats Stewart! This usually goes the other way.
  • Michael J. Fox with a tribute to the creator of Family Ties, Gary Goldberg.
  • Outstanding choreography? That’s a thing on TV?
  • That’s nice – they finally get to be on the real broadcast. That’s the equivalent to getting to sit at the grown-up table.

 

  • Those hands coming out of that wall was kind of creepy. It also reminded me of a game on The Price is Right.

punch5

  • The How I Met Your Mother ladies look nice.

alyson-hanigan-cobie-smulders-emmys-2013-red-carpet

  • Whoa – The Colbert Report wins again for best variety series. Poor John Oliver will never get to host again.
  • Stephen Colbert gives a nice tribute to his mom who passed away this year.
  • Oh man – Edie Falco with the James Gandolfini tribute. This breaks my heart.
  • Edie tearing up = me bawling.

 

  • Who did Anna Faris’ makeup? She looks terrible.

???????????????????????????

  • These CBS promos within the ceremony are tacky.
  • Outstanding Writing in a Mini-series – I have no idea who will win, but man did I hate Parade’s End. Critics raved about it, but even with Benedict Cumberbatch I couldn’t get through it. So boring.
  • I really like Kaley Cuoco’s dress.

65th Annual Primetime Emmy Awards - Arrivals

  • This was a weird little moment

gif_300x300_77de93

  • And now the normal In Memorium segment. Too much focus on death this year. And I hate that the Emmys allow you to hear the applause for each person.
  • I’ll admit – I am half paying attention at this point.
  • Wait – was Kevin Spacey hitting the camera a bit or not? I’m having a hard time figuring out what is planned and what isn’t. I think that’s a problem.

gif_300x300_d9278a

  • Steven Sorderbergh does not look anything like I thought he did.
  • Best lead actor in a mini-series – has to be Michael Douglas.
  • Who knew Douglas was so funny?

 

  • I’m assuming Outstanding Mini-series will be Behind the Candelabra. It really was so well done.
  • Will Ferrell? What does he have to do with TV? I’m not complaining – he’s hilarious – but seems like an odd choice.
4B9121707-130922-will-ferrell.blocks_desktop_medium

A family affair – Ferrell brought his three kids on stage with him

  • Best comedy series – Modern Family will win because the Emmy voters are drones.
  • Best drama series – this category is STACKED. It hurts me to choose, but I’m going with Breaking Bad.
  • Yeah! They won the Emmy, bitch!
  • Why am I just finding out that Vince Gilligan’s partner’s name is Holly? This seems like important info.
  • That’s it? It’s over? No wrap up? That was abrupt.

In all honesty, this award show kind of stunk. It was far too depressing and they wasted too much time on stuff that no one cares about, to the detriment of the winners. Neil Patrick Harris gave it his best shot, but there wasn’t much he could do to turn around this sinking ship.  This was boring and there were too many awards where the wrong person won. All the dwelling on death was morbid; this Tweet summed the night up perfectly:

tumblr_mtk137AwTN1qz8vumo1_500

Boo to the Emmys – you wasted my Sunday night and forced me to not watch Breaking Bad. Shame on you!

A compete list of the 2013 Emmy winners can be found here.

Leave a Reply

