I Want To Be Sedated

Yowza – it has been an emotionally draining week for me. In the course of eight days I will have said goodbye to two of my favorite baseball players of all time – Andy Pettitte and Mariano Rivera – who are headed to retirement (and in the case of Rivera, Cooperstown). This Sunday I will say goodbye to one of my favorite television shows of all time, as Breaking Bad comes to its presumably violent and bloody end. Pair that with that one of the most disappointing birthdays that I’ve had in a very long time and I’m about ready to reach for some Xanax. I’m such a wreck today that every time I see a clip of Rivera leaving the mound for the last time in Yankee Stadium I bubble up, even though I was there last night and cried plenty witnessing this moment in history live and in person. I’m sure the fact that I am running on about 3.5 hours sleep is only exasperating the problem, but still – I’m a mess.

So I’m taking the weekend to get myself together; hopefully once the Breaking Bad finale airs I’ll be back to normal. In the meantime, I keep re-watching this clip from Late Night with Jimmy Fallon to cut some of the melancholy. You can’t be sad when you are watching The Muppets. That’s a proven fact.

 

Have a great weekend everyone! And please keep your fingers crossed that nothing happens to Jon Hamm, Fallon or any of the cast of Arrested Development in the next few days. I don’t think I could take it.

Leave a Reply

