Treehouse of Horror XXIV Couch Gag

It was a busy night for me last night: I had a movie screening for Captain Phillips (review coming next week) and then the Bills were playing a Thursday night game against the Browns. I’ve also decided to try getting back into hockey this year, so I was toggling between the Bills doing their usual choke job and the New York Rangers first game (which they also lost). So it was a late night that was pretty disappointing. I am not having very good luck with my sports teams this year.

I have a bunch of stuff that I’m saving for next week, when I have a little more time to write things up, but didn’t want to send you into the weekend empty handed. In this week’s Pop Culture Odds and Ends post, I mentioned that Guillermo del Toro was doing the open credits for The Simpson’s annual Treehouse of Horror episode. Fox has released the video and it really is quite enjoyable. del Toro has a definite style and I appreciated the many shout outs to other horror movies. I’m not even sure that I got them all.

 

I am constantly impressed that a show that has been on for nearly 25 years continues to be innovative and try new things. They really are a creative bunch at that show and are open to interesting collaborations. I don’t watch The Simpsons as regularly as I once did, but cool stuff like this makes me want to make more of an effort. The Treehouse of Horror episode will air this Sunday on Fox at 8 pm (ET). I’ll be setting my DVR.

Have a wonderful weekend!

Leave a Reply

