TV highlights this week

After a weekend of lounging on the couch watching Golden Girls re-runs and coughing, I am unfortunately a little behind on my pop culture blogging. However, today seemed like a good day to draw your attention to some interesting programming slated for this week on the old boob tune. While there are always things to watch, this upcoming week in particular there are lots of fun a things on TV. So while I catch up, see if there is anything listed below that you might want to set to record on the old DVR:

Monday

CrazySexyCool: The TLC Story– VH1, 9pm – I am a sucker for a terrible Lifetime movie, especially one based on real events, so I’m guessing the biopic of 90s group TLC will probably be right up my alley. It’s not like the film will be lacking for material; Left Eye did “accidentally” burn down her boyfriend’s house.

 

@Midnight – Comedy Central, midnight – Chris Hardwick is seemingly everywhere lately; he hosts both Talking Bad and Talking Dead on AMC (the talk shows that follow Breaking Bad and The Walking Dead, respectively) as well as the Nerdist networl. That’s not enough for him apparently, as tonight he launches a new late night game show. The show airs Monday – Thursday after The Colbert Report.

Bones – FOX, 8pm – I’ve never seen this show, but apparently there is a wedding tonight that is a long time coming.

Late Night with Jimmy Fallon – NBC, 12:35 am – Of course, Late Night should be on your viewing schedule every week, but the show kicks off Pearl Jam week tonight. All the musical guests will play Pearl Jam songs and the band will make an appearance on Thursday and Friday.

The Daily Show and The Colbert Report – Comedy Central, 11:00pm and 11:30 pm, respectively –  Both shows are back after having the week off last week, which means that I am a week behind on all my news. Catch me up, gentleman, and make me an informed citizen once again!

Wednesday

Game 1 of the World Series – FOX, 7:30 pm ET – I may not be too thrilled with the teams that are playing this year, but as a baseball fan I’ll be tuned in to see the Boston Red Sox face the St. Louis Cardinals in the first game of the series. The full World Series schedule can be found here.

Thursday

Project Runway: All Stars – Lifetime, 9 pm – I haven’t watched this show in a long time, but I always found it to be one of the more enjoyable reality shows out there. I credit Tim Gunn for that, as he really is pretty awesome. The third season of All Stars debuts tonight; the full cast of contenders can be found here.

Friday

Grimm – NBC, 9 pm – I lost interest in this series pretty quickly, but for those of you still watching, the new season premiers tonight.

Dracula – NBC, 10 pm – I’m beginning to think that Jonathan Rhys Meyers simply doesn’t know how to act in programs set in the 21st century. Following up his role as King Henry VII on The Tudors, he is now the titular vampire in this series set in the Victorian Age.

 

Anything you are looking forward to watching this week? Share your tips in the comments below.

Leave a Reply

