Anchorman: The Ice Cream

I’ve written before of my love of Ben and Jerry’s ice cream before, both because of their delicious concoctions as well their love of pop culture. I can appreciate any company that names flavors after musicians, late night talk show hosts and TV shows. These are my people. While I haven’t been a fan of all these flavors – I couldn’t even finish the pint of Schweddy Balls that I bought and was pretty underwhelmed by the Liz Lemon frozen yogurt – I’m always looking forward to what they will cook up next. I still think that it was a missed opportunity that they didn’t do a banana flavored ice cream for the return of Arrested Development and I would have loved to see how creative they could have been with a Breaking Bad themed flavor. Blueberry Meth, maybe? Parents would have loved that.

Yesterday, I was delighted to see that the ice cream conglomerate was releasing a new limited edition batch that had a pop culture connection. To commemorate the upcoming Christmas release of Anchorman 2 (can’t wait!), the good folks of Vermont hatched the new flavor Scotchy Scotch Scotch:

o-SCOTCH-570

This is awesome not only because I love Anchorman, but because I am also a big fan of Butterscotch. Yup – 80 year old grandmas and I have the same weakness for butterscotch hard candies. While everyone else I know makes a bee line for the mints after dinner, I always excited when restaurants have a bowl of hard candies out that contains the magical butterscotch. I’m halfway convinced that one of the reasons a local Mexican restaurant is one of my favorite places to go is not because they make a mean chimichanga, but because they always have an ample supply of that golden little candy.

Because Scotchy Scotch Scotch is a limited batch, there is no predicting what grocery stores will have it and which won’t. To me, that just adds to the fun of it. I love a good scavenger hunt, stemming from my parents mother hiding gifts for us around the house on Easter and Valentine’s Day. We had to follow the clues to find our presents, which was sometimes just as much fun as the actual gift at the end of the road. I’ve gotten pretty good at stalking seasonal and limited edition food items; it took me a while, but I finally located the chicken and waffle Lay’s potato chips that I was coveting (verdict: sadly, they were gross) and I’ve successfully located the other Ben and Jerry’s ice cream flavors that will be released, though cannoli took a very long time and was hardly worth the effort. Candy Corn Oreos were far too easy to find (I liked them!), so I’m in need of a new project. The search for pumpkin spice M&Ms seems to have hit a snag.

I’ll report back if I am able to find Scotchy Scotch Scotch and give it a taste. For now, I’m just happy to know that it exists (and that they didn’t name the flavor Sex Panther. I love Ben and Jerry’s, but they were pushing their luck making me eat an ice cream named Schweddy Balls).

What’s your favorite pop culture related or limited edition food item? Sound off in the comments below. **A new trailer for Anchorman 2 was also just released. It has been a banner 24 hours for fans of Ron Burgundy!**

 

Leave a Reply

