Fun Friday – Weekend Agenda

The weekend is finally here, which is an excellent development since I’ve thought it was Friday the last two days. There is nothing quite like sitting in a meeting, absentmindedly planning your weekend, and then suddenly realizing that it is Thursday, not Friday. This happened to me yesterday and it is a miracle that I could hide my disappointment from my boss. With all the general excitement of Halloween, it really did feel like yesterday was the end of the workweek.

I’m unsure why I am so anxious for the weekend to arrive this weekend in particular, as I don’t have any major plans. I’ve been forcing myself to not overbook myself so much and to take it a little easier. I love my life and keeping myself busy, but when you run around as much as I do, it can get exhausting.  So I’m in something of a self-imposed “time out” so that when my social calendar kicks into high gear again next weekend, I won’t be too tired to enjoy it.

That doesn’t mean, however, that I won’t still be engaging in a little pop culture exploration this weekend. I may be staying close to home, but there is always stuff to do even if I decide that I don’t want to leave the comfort of my couch all weekend. Here’s what is currently on the agenda:

  • Go to the movies

I’ve fallen a little behind in my movie attendance in the last few months, so this weekend seems as good a time as any to catch up on some new releases. We’re getting close to Oscar season – most Oscar nominees are released in the last part of the year – so the quality of films is beginning to uptick. I already have plans to see 12 Years a Slave tonight, which I have been looking forward to seeing. I’m sure that it will be a challenging film given the subject matter, but it has received so much buzz from the festival circuit that I’m glad that it is finally opening in Albany.

 

Not the most relaxing start to the weekend, but a film that I have high hopes for.

Also opening this weekend is Ender’s Game (a film that has had some negative publicity given the politics of Orson Scott Card, the author of the book that the film is based on)

 

The family friendly Free Birds

 

Last Vegas (which looks like The Hangover for the older set)

 

  • Aziz Ansari – Buried Alive

I thoroughly enjoyed Ansari when I saw him live back in May. His comedy special based on that tour is being released today on Netflix. There probably won’t be much new material from what I saw – there is some evolution on tours but most comics use the same core jokes – but I wouldn’t mind sitting through it all again as I missed some of his act because I was laughing so hard. If you haven’t seen Ansari live, I suggest checking this special out.

 

  • The Simpsons

I don’t regularly watch The Simpsons but this weekend I may make more of an effort. There has been a slight adjustment made to FOX’s Sunday night lineup this weekend – the network is pulling a repeat of American Dad (7:30 ET) to replay the classic The Simpsons’ episode, “Bart the Lover,” to honor the late great Marcia Wallace. This is the episode that won Wallace an Emmy in 1992 for her voice work as Edna Krabappel.

A new episode of The Simpsons will follow that tribute and the couch gag this week will be a spoof of The Hobbit:

 

  • Read a book

I’m in the midst of trying to downsize and one of the hurdles is my collection of books. It has been dramatically pared down from all my various moves, but I still have a fair amount to weed through. I’m happy to pay them forward (anyone want all my Sookie Stackhouse books?), but a vast number of them have never been read. So this might be the perfect weekend to pull one or two off the shelf to read so that they can be passed along to another home. Plus it has been far too long since I just spent some time curled up with a good book.

What’s on your agenda for the weekend? Share your ideas in the comments below. Happy weekend everyone!

 

Leave a Reply

