San Francisco to become Gotham City

I’ve mentioned before on the blog how much I love the Bay Area; San Francisco is one of my all-time favorite cities and if it wasn’t so darn expensive I would absolutely consider moving there. I am tremendously fortunate that my best friend lives in one of the cities near San Francisco so that I am able to visit on a somewhat regular basis (and have a free place to stay).  I’m actually a little overdue for a trip, as I haven’t made it to “the city by the Bay” since I went to the U.S. Open in 2012.

I frequently long to be hanging out in San Francisco, but I really wish that I was going to be in Northern California next weekend – not only because I miss my friends that live there, but because something pretty awesome is going down: downtown San Francisco will become a stand-in for Gotham City to fulfill a five year old’s Make-A-Wish. Miles, who is battling leukemia, requested to be Batkid as his wish and the people at the Make-A-Wish of the Greater Bay Area have really outdone themselves with making that wish come true.

Miles, aka Batkid, reporting for duty

Miles, aka Batkid, reporting for duty

It would have been pretty easy to simply dress Miles up in a costume and have him meet Christian Bale, but instead they have a whole day of activities planned:

  • He’ll save a damsel in distress from the Hyde Street cable-car tracks.
  • He’ll capture the Riddler robbing a vault.
  • He’ll chase down the Penguin, who has kidnapped Lou Seal, the mascot for the San Francisco Giants.
Watch out Lou!

Watch out Lou!

  • He’ll be presented the key to the city by the Mayor to thank him for defending the city.

Throughout the day, volunteers will plead for Batkid’s help and cheer him on when he is honored. It sounds like a pretty spectacular day for the little guy. If I was anywhere near San Francisco on that day, I’d absolutely be a part of it. To think of all these strangers working together to give this sick little boy such a memorable day brings a tear to my eye. It’s nice to see that Make-A-Wish is willing to go the extra mile for a request that is a little outside the norm; sending a kid to Disney World is great if that is what they want, but this event took real thought and planning. I’ve known several children who have been granted a wish by this charity and it really does mean a lot to the recipients and their families. So hats off to them for all their hard work. And of course, best wishes to Miles in his battle; if he can beat the Joker and the Penguin, I have no doubt that he can beat leukemia.

If you are in the Bay Area and want to volunteer, visit Miles’ Make-A-Wish page for more info.

Leave a Reply

