2014 Oscar Nominations

index

It’s one of my favorite days of the year – it’s Academy Award Nomination Day! I get surprisingly giddy for today, considering that I have no real vested interest in the outcome. I have my favorites, of course, but in the grand scheme of things I know that on some level that this has no lasting impact on my life.

But love doesn’t have to make sense and I do love me some movies. So while it isn’t 100% logical, I always get super excited to see who and what are up for the Oscar, followed by anxiety when I have to try to track down some more obscure foreign films and documentaries to complete my annual “Oscar Death Race” to see everything that is nominated.

I’m actually in pretty good shape this year overall – I have seen all of the Best Picture nominees already and am missing only two from the Acting categories (still need to see Blue Jasmine; Mike – we have until March 2). I’m a little annoyed that Joaquin Phoenix didn’t get a Best Actor nod, but I honestly don’t know who I would remove from that list to make room for him. No nominations for Tom Hanks or Robert Redford either, so at least Phoenix is in good company. I’m relieved that the Academy didn’t fall for the schmaltz that was Saving Mr. Banks. The documentaries look to be fairly accessible this year – most are out on DVD or will be shortly – but I am concerned about finding two of the foreign films (Omar and The Missing Picture) as they may be in film purgatory (not in the theaters and not yet streaming or on DVD). This year the animated films are also looking like a potential problem with the nomination for Ernest & Celestine and The Wind Rises. Not sure where I’m going to find them either. This could be the year where I finally break down and take a trip to NYC just to see some films. Perhaps I can combine that with my 2014 Pop Culture Resolution of going to visit the Alamo Drafthouse. Thank goodness I have until the beginning of March to get all this done. I know, I know. First world problems.

My reviews for nominated films will all be tagged with Oscars 2014 to make them easy to find on the blog. A full list of nominees can be found here, but the “major” award nominees are listed below. This has been a fantastic year for movies and I look forward to seeing who ultimately wins. I predict a showdown between American Hustle and 12 Years a Slave.

Best Supporting Actor
Barkhad Abdi – Captain Phillips
Radley Cooper – American Hustle
Michael Fassbender – 12 Years a Slave
Jonah Hill – The Wolf of Wall Street
Jared Leto – Dallas Buyers Club

Supporting Actor
Sally Hawkins – Blue Jasmine
Jennifer Lawrence – American Hustle
Lupita Nyong’o – 12 Years a Slave
Julia Roperts – August: Osage County
June Squibb – Nebraska

Original Song
Alone Yet Not Alone – Alone Yet Not Alone
Happy – Despicable Me 2
Let It Go – Frozen
The Moon Song – Her
Ordinary Love – Mandela: Long Walk to Freedom

Adapted Screenplay
Before Midnight
Captain Phillips
Philomena
12 Years a Slave
The Wolf of Wall Street

Original Screenplay
American Hustle
Blue Jasmine
Dallas Buyers Club
Her
Nebraska

Best Animated Feature Film
The Croods
Despicable Me 2
Ernest & Celestine
Frozen
The Wind Rises

Best Documentary Feature
The Act of Killing
Cutie and the Boxer
Dirty Wars
The Square
20 Feet From Stardom

Best Foreign Language Film
The Broken Circle Breakdown
The Great Beauty
The Hunt
The Missing Picture
Omar

Best Director
David O. Russell – American Hustle
Alfonso Cuaron – Gravity
Alexander Payne – Nebraska
Steve McQueen – 12 Years a Slave
Martin Scorsese – The Wolf of Wall Street

Best Actress
Amy Adams – American Hustle
Cate Blanchett – Blue Jasmine
Sandra Bullock – Gravity
Judi Dench – Philomena
Meryl Streep – August: Osage County

Best Actor
Christian Bale – American Hustle
Bruce Dern – Nebraska
Leonardo DiCaprio – The Wolf of Wall Street
Chiwetel Ejiofor – 12 Years a Slave
Matthew McConaughey – Dallas Buyers Club

Best Picture
American Hustle
Captain Phillips
Dallas Buyers Club
Gravity
Her
Nebraska
Philomena
12 Years a Slave
The Wolf of Wall Street

The 86th annual Academy Awards ceremony will be Sunday March 2, hosted by Ellen DeGeneres.

Leave a Reply

