Trailer Alert – Silicon Valley

Unfortunately, I think blog posts are going to be few and far between this week – work has been incredibly stressful and I have lots of errands and things to do after work, which means that by the time I get home all I really want to do is go to bed. It’s so bad that I have 4 episodes of The Tonight Show sitting on my DVR; I’ve NEVER been that far behind when it comes to my pal Jimmy Fallon. But that is the current state of Heather’s world (both the blog and in reality).

Things should hopefully calm down in the next week, but I didn’t want to leave you completely hanging for the week. So today I wanted to highlight the trailer for the new HBO series, Silicon Valley, from the brain of Mike Judge.

 

Now, I know very little about computer programming (despite the fact that my mother was one before I was born), but I am really looking forward to this show. It stars several comedians that I really like; I’ve been a fan of Martin Starr from back when he was on Freaks and Geeks and I always get a kick out of T.J. Miller and Kumail Nanjiani. I am more familiar with Miller and Nanjiani from the podcast world – both are frequent guests on one of my favorite pods, Doug Loves Movies – though some of you may recognize Miller from Yogi Bear and from the recent series of “Lazy Phone” Motorola commercials:

 

I’m hoping that their hilarity on podcasts and doing standup will translate to a successful show. Starr is always solid in whatever he is in, so that gives me hope. I also like Zack Woods, who was underutilized on The Office.

While I like the majority of the cast, I am primarily excited about this program because it comes from Mike Judge. Judge is the man that brought us Beavis and Butthead, King of the Hill, Office Space and Idiocracy and I think he is generally underrated. I have long been a fan of King of the Hill and Office Space and while Idiocracy isn’t a perfect movie, I appreciate what it was trying to say. I even enjoyed Beavis and Butthead back in the day, though I have no idea how those episodes would hold up over time. Judge has a background in Silicon Valley and he does cultural satire better than most, so I think Silicon Valley has a legitimate chance to be a really funny and great show. Office Space has gotten me through plenty of rough weeks at the office, so I’m hoping that he’ll have the same success with another workplace based comedy. My only real concern is that I absolutely hated his 2009 movie Extract; I’m hoping that is the one anomaly on his resume. The above trailer at least gives me reason to be cautiously optimistic. The network has given it a prime time slot; Silicon Valley will premiere April 6th, following the season premieres of Game of Thrones and Veep. If it doesn’t work after that lead in, then it just won’t work.

Are there any new show debuting that you are looking forward to? What returning show are you most anxiouos to have back in your life? Let us know by sounding off in the comments below.

One thought on “Trailer Alert – Silicon Valley

  1. ADF says:

    Looking forward to the return of The Americans!

Leave a Reply

