Pop Culture Odds and Ends – Vacation Countdown Edition

I’m so excited – in less than a month I’ll be going on a much needed vacation. I haven’t taken more than a day off from work since last March and between the increased responsibility and stress at work and this long winter, I’m about ready to snap. As I told a co-worker, if I don’t get away for a while they are taking me out of the office in either handcuffs or a body bag. So thankfully for everyone, it’s only a few more weeks and threat level midnight for my mental health will hopefully be over. How bad is it? My boss, who recently had a major health scare, seems really concerned about how I’m doing. Not a good sign.

But thankfully, I have the blog and the world of pop culture to help me relax until I can get away. A few minutes surfing the web and reading up on television, music and movies and I forget briefly that I’m near my breaking point. And lucky for you, I save up all my pop culture therapy to share with you. So check out the plentiful bounty of pop culture goodness that is helping me bide my time until I’m enjoying sunshine and time with good friends.

  • Two of my favorites singing a duet for St. Patrick’s Day:

 

  • Some excerpts from McConaughey’s character notes for True Detective.
  • It was only a matter of time – Billy Dee Williams did a Star Wars themed cha cha on Dancing with the Stars:

 

  • Someone has put a sweet beat behind the Dean’s rap from last week’s Community:

 

  • Early reviews aren’t great, but they at least got the poster right:
  • If you are like me, you may need a refresher before the new season of Game of Thrones begins. This may help:

 

  • News to me – Danai Gurira (Michonne on The Walking Dead) is a playwright.
  • I am fascinated by Graph TV, which charts the ratings of TV shows by episode.

anigif_enhanced-29299-1395051434-3

  • Jason Segel in a Krispy Kreme drive-thru. And I didn’t think I could love him any more.
reddit.com

reddit.com

  • A new Wu-Tang Clan single has dropped (NSFW):

 

  • Whoa. THIS is Walt from Lost looks like now:
Getty Image

Getty Image

  • See Tom Hiddleston sing in The Pirate Fairy:

 

  • The NFL reportedly wants to fine M.I.A. $16 million for flipping the bird during the halftime show of the Superbowl (back in 2012). To recap – giving the middle finger is a major problem, but rape, murder and animal abuse are no big whoop.

Trailers! Get your trailers here:

  • Veep season 3!

 

  • Our first look at the James Brown biopic, Get On Up:

 

  • The Boondocks are back for season 4:

 

  • A featurette for Transcendence with Johnny Depp :

 

  • Kristen Wiig and Hailee Steinfeld in Hateship Loveship:

 

  • A maddeningly short teaser for season 7 of Mad Men:

 

  • A new trailer for Maleficent:

 

  • The Mazerunner:

 

  • I’m still conflicted about this, but check out the first teaser trailer for the 3-D Peanuts movie:

 

  • The final The Amazing Spider-Man 2 trailer has arrived:

 

As always, we end with the supercuts and mashups:

  • The Dworf of Westeros (ignore the dumb title; it’s a Game of Thrones/Wolf of Wall Street mashup):

 

  • Patton Oswalt did a True Detective parody:

 

  • Someone mashed up the faces of Emma Watson and Jennifer Lawrence. The result is pretty impressive.
  • A University of Limerick student did a Wolf of Wall Street inspired campaign video for student body president:

 

  • A supercut of 1001 movies you must see before you die:

 

  • Watch Die Hard with Pugs:

 

  • Someone redid The Simpsons couch gag out of LEGOS

 

  • A Batman (comics)/True Detective mashup:

 

  • People are mashing up rap and the Thomas the Tank Engine theme song and it’s SPECTACULAR:

 

 

 

Why are they doing this? WHO CARES???

 

  • This supercut of Christopher Walken dancing made me smile:

 

  • And finally, I’m loving this King of the Hill/True Detective mashup:

 

Leave a Reply

