Pop Culture Odds and Ends – Short Week Edition

I hope that everyone had an enjoyable Memorial Day weekend; I am a big fan of any holiday that results in me having a short work week. This has been a good week for me not only because of the bonus day off, but because this week is the lull when a lot of shows have ended and summer series haven’t begun yet. The Tonight Show, The Daily Show and The Colbert Report are all in re-runs this week as well, so I have a legitimate chance at catching up on programs that I’ve fallen behind on and cleaning out the old DVR. I really need the chance to get current on some programs – I have the entire second season of The Americans waiting for me to devour and I just caught up on Mad Men over the weekend, in time for the mid-eason finale.. I guess an alternative would be to watch less television in general, but that sounds like kooky talk to me. Who wants to live like that? I am, however, a little concerned about the withdrawal symptoms that I am exhibiting after no new episode of Game of Thrones this week. It is quite possible that I have developed an unhealthy attachment to that show.

I’m still beta testing the pop culture roundup as a weekly feature; so far the limited feedback that I’ve received (thanks Ang!) has been positive and I’m digging it so far, so I think this will stick. So while I relish all my brief freedom from being a slave to television programming, check out what’s been going on the last week in the world of pop.

Maya-Angelou-Quotes-2

 

  • Seth Rogen and Snoop Dogg got high and recapped Game of Thrones (spoilers, obvs):

THIS NEEDS TO BE A REGULAR THING! HBO – get on that!

 

  • What does Morgan Freeman sound like after inhaling helium?

 

  • The New York Post wrote perhaps the greatest wedding announcement:

nypost-480x640

 

  • I did less well on this quiz on Drew Barrymore’s dating life on-screen and off.
  • The kids at the University of Delaware recreated the Friends intro:

 

  • More celebrity commencement speeches: Jim Carrey and Ed Helms (the latter at Cornell, naturally).
  • Congratulations to Happy Ending’s Casey Wilson, who got married Memorial Day weekend

Dreams. 💜

A post shared by Casey Wilson (@caseyrosewilson) on

1400870795000-BoVlNjmCcAAZ5Ic

 

John Mayer covers Beyoncé:

 

Time for some trailers…..

  • Disney’s Big Hero 6:

 

  • The first trailer for Life Itself, the documentary about Roger Ebert:

 

  • A trailer for a new season of Comedians in Cars Getting Coffee. I need to catch up!

 

  • Roman Polanski’s adaptation of the play Venus in Fur:

 

  • River Phoenix in Dark Blood:

 

  • Kristen Stewart in Clouds of Sils Maria:

 

  • The Cannes Film Festival winner, Winter Sleep:

 

  • Denzel Washington in The Equalizer:

 

  • Here’s the cover of Amy Poehler’s new book:

yesplease

tumblr_lrsim1w3IC1qhnufao1_500

As always, we end with the supercuts and mashups:

  • This week – the previous roles of the actors on Mad Men:

 

Calvin-Hobbes-FB-550x425

 

  • The 40-Year-Old Virgin, re-cut as a psychological horror film:

 

Joan-2

 

  • MTV CribsStar Wars edition:

 

  • The Smashmouth Redemption:

 

  • Beyoncé meet Godzilla in the parody trailer:

 

  • Halo and Minecraft, mashed up together:

 

  • System of a Down and Elton John go surprisingly well together:

 

  • H Jon Benjamin voices HAL in 2001: A Space Odyssey:

 

  • Disney villains get their own musical:

 

chicken.jpg

 

  • Hannibal re-cut as a cooking show:

 

  • And finally….Game of Thrones meets Perfect Strangers:
Leave a Reply

