Pop Culture Odds and Ends – The Whirlwind Summer Begins Edition

Last night I was looking over my calendar and nearly gave myself a panic attack; to say that I am overscheduled for the next three months would be a gross understatement. On one hand, that thrills me since I hate to sit home and do nothing – I’m happiest when I am out and about. On the other hand, there is something to be said for down time, especially since apparently winter Heather thought that trips to Boston, New Jersey, Philadelphia and New York City are all easy day trips. I’m also experiencing  a lot of guilt that I have to decline invitations because of my previous commitments; so far I’ve mostly been able to accommodate other people, but it often means cut short things I want to do or doing three events in one day. It’s going to be a tremendously fun summer, but it is possible that I won’t get to relax until November. #FirstWorldProblems

All these activities are good for you all, however, as it means content for the blog. While I figure out how to juggle everything, check out this week’s roundup of pop culture stories that you might have missed. The world of pop never sleeps – and apparently, neither do I.

  • Stop messing with our heads, Bryan Cranston! (spoilers if you haven’t seen the ending of Breaking Bad, though seriously – what are you waiting for??)

 

wonder-years-dining-table

  • The Game of Thrones book series may be extended to 8 books. I don’t know what George R.R. Martin is playing at here; he actually dug himself a bigger hole.
  • No big deal – just Bruce Springsteen and The Rolling Stones performing together. Nothing to see here.
  • This will be of interest to my brother – The Sting is the latest film to get a Broadway adaption (sorry – inside family joke).
  • I have no idea WHY someone would do this, but this video sorts all the dialogue from Star Wars in alphabetical order:

 

  • Zach Braff and Donald Faison did a rendition of “Guy Love” from Scrubs at a screening of Wish I was Here:

 

  • Time magazine examines whether a recent death on Game of Thrones could actually happen (spoilers if you aren’t current).

Variety Studio Powered By Samsung Galaxy - Day 2

  • The touring production of Jesus Christ Superstar with Michelle Williams (Destiny’s Child) and JC Chavez (N’Sync) was abruptly canceled.

2nd Annual Poker For Great Futures Celebrity Tournament & Red Carpet Party

uncle-jesse-the-rippers

  • If you follow Lena Headey’s Instagram, she actually spoiled last week’s episode of Game of Thrones two months ago (though you probably didn’t realize it). How very Cersei of her.
  • I’ve only see Wet Hot American Summer once, but I got 100% on this quiz because I’m the queen of context clues.

peter-dinklage-yearbook-photo

  • O-Town (remember them?) released a new single – their first in ten years and since member Ashley Parker Angel died:

 

Lots and lots of trailers this week:

  • The new animated film The Book of Life looks fun:

 

  • A first look at FX’s new series You’re the Worst:

 

  • The official Mortal Kombat X announce trailer (these graphics have improved A LOT since I last played this):

 

  • A trailer for the final season of True Blood:

 

  • Jason Bateman and Tina Fey lead an all-star cast in This Is Where I Leave You:

 

  • In an upcoming HBO Documentary, Robert DeNiro remembers his artist father:

 

  • Also coming to HBO – the Foo Fighters:

 

  • Dakota Fanning and Elizabeth Olsen team up for Very Good Girls:

 

  • Will Arnett and Aaron Paul lend their voices to the new Netflix series, BoJack Horseman:

 

  • Ron Howard’s documentary Made In America, about Jay Z’s music festival of the same name:

 

  • The Rock as Hercules:

 

  • Eli Roth’s The Green Inferno:

 

  • Nicolas Cage in Left Behind:

 

As always, we end with supercuts and mashups:

  • A supercut of people in horror movies foolishly going “to check things out:”

 

tumblr_n6i77sfaUQ1rihymso4_1280

 

  • A supercut of people saying “Don’t die on me” in the movies:

 

  • Someone mashed up Iggy Azalea’s “Fancy” with Reba McEntire’s “Fancy” and frankly, it really works (NSFW):

 

  • A supercut of TV’s greatest catchphrases:

 

  • And finally – the80s style theme song that The Walking Dead really needed:
Leave a Reply

