Pop Culture Odds and Ends – Community LIVES Edition

The unthinkable has happened – Community has been brought back from the dead, thanks to a last minute deal with Yahoo! for another season. The dream of #Sixseasonsandamovie lives on! Once Hulu passed on the deal, I really thought that there was no chance for the show’s survival and I had made my peace with that. I’ll be curious to hear more details about the resurrection – will the entire core cast be back, how many episodes will there be – and there is always a legitimate chance that this is a mistake, but I’m choosing to be cautiously optimistic about this announcement. In the words of Greendale’s greatest philosopher, Magnitude:

tumblr_n805njImwR1qaty2do1_r1_400

Don’t worry – if you don’t give a hoot about the return of a cult sitcom with terrible ratings, there is still plenty for you to enjoy in this week’s round up. I get that Community isn’t for everyone – only the best people 🙂 So while we wait for the three-day holiday weekend, kick back and get yourself caught up all the pop culture that you may have missed in the last seven days.

  • What would a nature show hosted by Snoop Dogg look like? Probably something like this:

 

BrYzXVECYAAyylL.jpg large

showbiz-downton-abbey-ladies-harpers-bazaar

  • Kelsey Grammer has returned to Twitter – to correct people’s grammar:

He’s not the hero we want, but the hero we deserve.

  • I have no idea why this happened, but I’m glad it did – Dolly Parton playing The Benny Hill Show theme song at the Glastonbury music festival:

 

  • Anya and Sansa Stark were finally reunited….at Glastonbury:

sansa-and-arya-glastonbury

  • What happens when you watch the first three Transformers movies at the same time?

 

  • If you are going to lose at Jeopardy!, this is the way to do it:

Jeopardy

The barrage of trailers:

  • A new documentary about George Takei sounds like required viewing:

 

  • A teaser for the final season of Boardwalk Empire:

 

  • Sharknado 2 is approaching:

 

  • Bill Hader and Kristen Wiig in The Skeleton Twins:

 

  • Kevin Kline, Dakota Fanning and Susan Sarandon in The Last of Robin Hood:

 

  • Bruce Willis in The Prince:

 

  • A teaser for The Hunger Games: Mockingjay Part I:

 

  • Downton Abbey’s cousin Matthew is kind of a jerk in the trailer for The Guest:

 

  • Aubrey Plaza in Life After Beth:

 

  • James Franco in Child of God:

 

  • Into the Storm:

 

  • Dracula Untold:

 

  • A teaser for the new season of Doctor Who:

 

  • Bill Murray and Melissa McCarthy in St. Vincent:

 

  • The Disappearance of Eleanor Rigby:

 

  • The gang is back for Horrible Bosses 2:

 

  • Tom Hardy has joined the Leonardo DiCaprio thriller, The Revenant.
  • Miley Cyrus has a super cute new puppy:

time to start making Emu accounts smilers. Hes here and here to stay 🌈 I welcomed Emu Coyne Cyrus into the family a couple days ago. Been keepin him a secret cause sometimes I'm weird like that. It's taken some time to be ready for this next step and loving again. There will never be anyone like Floyd. There was a bond that was so deep it's irreplaceable but that's not what I am trying to do. Never will I replace Floyd and that's something I had to take time to understand. we had a very special memorial service for Floyd and I felt my angel Floydy give Emu his blessing. I prayed to Floyd to just give him a touch of his awesomeness 🌈 and he has. He is so special and different than my baby Floyd and I think Floyd did that on purpose. But sometimes he does little things that remind me of him and it makes me smile 💖 I'm blissed the out right now ✌️ I feel like this is a new beginning in so many ways. I feel a change coming on 🌚

A post shared by Miley Cyrus (@mileycyrus) on

  • This guy beat Super Mario Brothers in less than five minutes. That’s about how long it takes me to figure out how to jump:

 

As always, we end with the supercuts and mashups:

  • This guy blazes through the entire Blink-182 catalog in five minutes:

 

4bbe71d67ca903fbba106cd02ca01a67

 

 

Mental note – Brickworld looks amazing.

  • Jack White opened his show in Dublin with a cover of Kanye’s song “Black Skinhead”

 

  • This guy does 29 impressions in one song:

 

  • The Wolf of Gilligan’s Island:

 

  •  And finally, Game of Thrones meets….Frozen?
Leave a Reply

