Pop Culture Odds and Ends – Act of Kindness Edition

Pop-Culture-608x500

A few weeks ago, within a 24 hour span I witnessed two people perform random acts of kindness for strangers. The first was a woman at the grocery store who gave money to the woman ahead of us in line that was counting change to pay for all her purchases; the second was a woman who bought coffee and a breakfast sandwich for a man who was either homeless or had mental health issues (or both). Seeing both of these things happen so close together had a profound effect on me; I realized that I really need to be doing better job of contributing to the goodness in the world. Both these incidents were reminders of just how good I actually have it and that I should make paying it forward more of my routine rather than an aberration.

So in the spirit of giving back, I’ve decided to raise awareness for a charity that is near and dear to my heart – The Children’s Tumor Foundation. My dear friend’s son has neurofibromatosis (NF), which causes tumors to grow throughout the body and can lead to blindness, bone abnormalities, cancer, deafness, disfigurement, and learning disabilities. Connor is a fabulous kid and he and his family have handled his diagnosis with far more grace than I ever could. They are simply my heroes. While I’d love to join them for the Children’s Tumor Foundation NF walk in Dallas, that’s logistically impossible. However, I’ve joined their fundraising team to help contribute in any little way that I can.

If you enjoy this blog, please consider making a small donation to help support this charity; I will be linking to my fundraising page every Wednesday until the walk in the hopes that I can help raise awareness and some much needed funds for research. I know that there are many charities that are vying for your time and money, so I appreciate you considering this request.

Don’t worry…I haven’t completely lost my edge with this new charitable awakening; you’ll still get the same snark and sarcasm that you’ve come to expect from As Heather’s World Turns. I still take glee in ripping apart a terrible film; my cold black heart remains fairly in tact.

So without further ado, here’s your weekly roundup of all things pop culture; as usual, it’s chock full of all sorts of goodness. So kick back, relax and catch up on all the pop culture that you might have missed!

bvckdheciaa6_om

  • Ha! The Colbert Report had a little fun with Gwen Stefani’s embarrassing pronunciation in their opening credits lat night (lower right in the photo below):

Colbore

  • Foreshadowing? Bryan Cranston was a member of his high school chemistry club:

BSMdsnRCYAABpVZ

 

  • Kari, Tony and Grant have left Mythbusters. The show will be going “in a new direction,” which sounds kind of ominous.
  • 50 Cent will donate $750,000 to charity of Floyd Mayweather can prove he can read:

tumblr_nav9s1RpCn1rw6hzpo1_500

iLi1pym

  • Julia Louis-Dreyfus received congrats from Joe Biden on her Emmy win:

 

And now, we pause to catch up on some new trailers

  • Another week, another Gotham trailer:

 

  • LEGO Batman 3 trailer:

 

  • An adaption of the Stephen King novella A Good Marriage:

 

  • A new teaser for Better Call Saul:

 

  • Brad Pitt in Fury:

 

  • A new trailer for Gone Girl:

 

  • We finally have a real American Horror Story: Freak Show teaser:

 

  • That not enough? Here’s a second AHS teaser:

 

  • Nicholas Hoult and Michael Shannon in Young Ones:

 

  • A book trailer for The Simpsons Family History:

 

  • Shailene Woodley and Eva Green in White Bird in a Blizzard:

 

  • Foo Fighters’ Sonic Highway:

 

  • A trailer for the third (and final) season of The Newsroom:

 

  • Lifetime released a trailer for their Brittany Murphy biopic:

 

  • A teaser for the return of The Comeback:

 

  • A different side of Katie Homes in Miss Meadows:

 

  • A teaser for the new season of The Vampire Diaries:

 

  • A teaser for the new season of Girls:

 

As promised I have done a step by step to this on my blog. Link in bio!

A post shared by LAURA JENKINSON (@laurajenkinson) on

As always, we end with the mashups and supercuts

  • Sin City redone as an 8-bit video game:

 

  • Another Bob’s Burgers/Guardians of the Galaxy mash-up:

tumblr_najig9evs81tj3fmio1_500

  • Game of Thrones dubbed with the sounds of vintage video games:

 

  • A supercut of robot movies:

 

  • LEGO Ghostbusters:

 

  • The many music video personas of Taylor Swift:

 

 

  • A best man speech set to Frozen’s “Let It Go”

 

  • A supercut of the most memorable deaths on True Blood (obvious spoilers):

 

  • And finally, The Office meets Game of Thrones:
2 thoughts on “Pop Culture Odds and Ends – Act of Kindness Edition

  1. Tori says:

    Just made a donation on your fundraising page. I really enjoy your Odds and Ends posts, although they give me way too much to go read! And most recently I especially enjoyed your hilarious blow-by-blow recaps of the awards shows. I hate watching them, but I know there is occasional good stuff there, so I love that I can just read your recap and get it all in less than five minutes. Thanks!

Leave a Reply

