Pop Culture Odds and Ends – Wait, Wednesday Is Tomorrow? Edition

Three day holiday weekends are tremendous, but they mess with my routine and wind up confusing me. Tuesday was my first day in the office, but it felt very much like a Monday with all its shenanigans and general annoyances. It wasn’t until I got home that it dawned on me that today was actually Tuesday and that I hadn’t even started this week’s pop culture roundup. Usually by now I have about half the post written. Not good. Thankfully Tuesday TV is mostly garbage and I could clean out some stuff on my DVR that didn’t require my full attention while I powered through doing a week’s worth of work in one night. To be honest, the results ain’t too shabby.

So while I hope that I didn’t miss any deadlines or meetings because I don’t know what day it is, kick back and get caught up on some of the pop culture that you may have missed in the last week.

  •  Matt Damon and Ben Affleck – REUNITED!
  • I was so sad to hear that the great Jan Hooks had passed away; SNL gave her a beautiful tribute:

 

  • I am loving Foo Fighters week on Letterman; here’s last night’s performance with Heart:

 

  • What happens when you get a lot of people dressed up as Deadpool in the same room? DANCE PARTY!

 

  • This kid OWNS the final Dirty Dancing dance:

 

  • Amy Poehler’s author photo is everything:

 

  • One one of my many trips to NYC, I couldn’t resist Kripsy Kreme’s Ghostbusters themed doughnuts:

2014-10-01 14.41.54

Time for some trailers…..

  • A new look at the Foo Fighters’ Sonic Highway:

 

  • George Clooney in Tomorrowland:

 

  • A sneak peek at the animated Guardians of the Galaxy:

 

  • Powers – an original program for Playstation:

 

  • Black Sails, season 2:

 

  • The National Theater presents James Franco and Chris O’Dowd in Of Mice and Men:

 

  • Robin Williams in A Merry Friggin Christmas:

 

  • More footage from Big Hero 6:

 

  • Will Smith and Margot Robbie in Focus:

 

  • Another trailer for Foxcatcher:

 

1_gif

  • Lane (Keiko Agena), Brian (John Cabera) and Zack (Todd Lowe) from Gilmore Girls got the band back together:

 

  • A new Toy Story holiday special will debut December 2nd:

ZZ2C7A580B-550x814

  • Claire Danes dropped by Sesame Street:

 

As always, we end with the mashups and supercuts.

  • The Wolf of System of a Down:

 

  • A Robert Downey Jr. supercut:

 

  • The guys at RiffTrax have some fun with It’s the Great Pumpkin, Charlie Brown:

 

  • Every “bastard” from Game of Thrones in under a minute:

 

  • The Walking Dead meets Welcome Back, Kotter:

 

  • More The Walking Dead fun – The Walking Drunk:

 

  • And finally…the folks on Game of Thrones sure do throw back a lot of wine (Cersei, mostly):
One thought on “Pop Culture Odds and Ends – Wait, Wednesday Is Tomorrow? Edition

  1. […] Pop Culture Odds and Ends – Wait, Wednesday Is Tomorrow? Edition […]

Leave a Reply

