Pop Culture Odds and Ends – Mercury Retrograde Edition

 

I had never heard the phrase Mercury retrograde until my friend’s step-mother used it a few years ago. I had absolutely no idea what she was talking about when she said it, but then she explained it was tied into astrology and was a period when things tended to go haywire – especially electronics. I didn’t necessarily buy into it – I’m skeptical of such things – but I threw the term around a lot whenever I hit a period where nothing seemed to be going right. The last week I seemed to have more little issues than normal – especially related to technology; my iPod suddenly freaked out and first wouldn’t turn off and then wouldn’t turn back on, my cable box was being weird, my cell phone has been giving me problems, etc. This was all capped off this morning when I was getting ready for work and my hair dryer inexplicably was dead. It worked without incident yesterday, yet today it was just a useless heap of plastic. I’m not saying Mercury retrograde is in fact real, but it is an odd coincidence that all of these things gave me problems the same time that Mercury retrograde was occurring. I’m chalking most of this up to bad luck, but it did give me some pause.

Thankfully none of these technological issues got in the way of doing this week’s pop culture roundup; I would not have been laughing if a week’s worth of links mysteriously disappeared. Per usual, I’ve searched the Internet far and wide to curate the most important pop culture nuggets from the last week. So while I explain to my co-workers why my hair is a wavy mess this morning, kick back, relax and catch up on all the pop culture that you may have missed.

  • Robert Kirkman, creator of The Walking Dead, debunks a theory about the show:

 

  • If this whole acting thing doesn’t pan out for Daniel Radcliffe, he may have a future as an MC:

 

uncle-leo

  • LaVar Burton reads Go The F*Ck T Sleep. I’m pretty sure this is why the Internet was invented:

 

  • Conan O’Brien learned a valuable lesson: don’t get into a Twitter war with Madeline Albright. You, sir, have been served:

 

  • OK Go debuted another video:

 

  • Terry Crewes in a robot dance off:

 

  • I’ve never really been in to hockey, but stories like this are convincing me to give it another try.

 

Trailer Time

  • Y’all have probably seen it already, but here’s the trailer for Avengers: Age of Ultron:

 

  • A quick look at Marvel’s Agent Carter, debuting in January on ABC:

 

  • A teaser for season 10 of It’s Always Sunny in Philadelphia:

 

  • A trailer for Chelsea Peretti’s Netflix special:

 

  • A red band trailer for Nightcrawler:

 

  • A teaser for the Netflix original series, Bloodline:

 

  • Another new Netflix series, Marco Polo:

 

  • Shameless, season 5:

 

  • Happy Valley trailer:

 

  • A trailer for Fox’s new series Empire:

 

  • Insidious: Chapter 3:

 

  • Jerry Seinfeld and Michael Richards reunite in this teaser for Comedians in Cars Getting Coffee:

 

1395217_10152356317186930_8687993024843963034_n

  • Here’s a cat dressed like Jasmine ridding a Roomba:

 

  • Conan O’Brien reunited with his former bandleader Max Weinberg last night after five years; Weinberg’s been busy playing with some up and coming group – Bruce Springsteen and the E Street Band

 

As always, we end with the mashups and supercuts

  • Sesame Street meets Harry Potter:

 

  • Greatest movie deaths of all time supercut (spoilers, obviously):

 

  • I have no idea what this means, if anything, but the new Avengers trailer syncs up pretty well with Celine Dion’s “My Heart Will Go On”:

 

 

  • A supercut of all the on-screen deaths in the original Star Wars trilogy:

 

  • Taylor Swift mashed up with Aphex Twins:

 

  • Here’s Michael Jackson’s “Thriller” sung in 20 different styles:

 

  • And finally…puppets do a shot by shot remake of Mr. Big’s “To Be With You” video:
Leave a Reply

