Pop Culture Odds and Ends – Still Obsessed With Serial Edition

I think I may need an intervention. Last night, I spent a half hour watching a video of someone driving around visiting the locations from the story being told on the Serial podcast. These weren’t even exciting locations – the video visited the Best Buy parking lot, the high school, a park and a library. It wasn’t even particularly well done; the framing was off and the camera work was probably done with a cell phone or something similarly low quality. Yet there I sat – riveted and taking it all in, looking for any evidence that might help me wrap my head around this case. This is what the podcast Serial is doing to me – every Thursday I rush home from work to listen to the new episode, which is both the happiest and saddest that I’ll be all week. Happy because I get another installment of this fascinating case, but sad since once its over I have to wait another week for the next episode. I figure I’m about two weeks away from haunting the subreddit that is devoted to the podcast and start hatching conspiracy theories with the rest of the online community. This is not a good look for me.

Thankfully I had the pop culture roundup to keep from completely going the rabbit hole. Searching out the best pop culture that you might have missed kept me grounded and minimized the amount of time that I could spend obsessing over Serial. So while you pour over all that the world of pop culture had to offer, know that in the back of mind I am trying to solve a crime that happened over 15 years ago.

  • The Big Bang Theory gets the LEGO treatment.
  • The new Star Wars movie has a name: The Force Awakens.
  • This aired on Adult Swim at 4 am; the less you know before you watch, the better:

 

  • Here’s a 12 year old Lorde covering Kings of Leon:

 

  • I will never tire of this clip of Andre Braugher from last week’s Brooklyn Nine-Nine:

  • John Oliver and Cookie Monster hung out:

 

Lots o’ trailers this week………

  • The final season of Justified 😦

 

  • Togetherness, Season 1:

 

  • The Librarians on TNT:

 

  • A sneak peek at Marvel’s Agent Carter:

 

  • The final trailer for The Hobbit: The Battle of the Five Armies:

 

  • Season 3 of Orphan Black:

 

  • Hooray for season 2 of Broad City:

 

  • A new season of Girls:

 

  • Doctor Who Christmas special:

 

  • Season 3 of Lilyhammer:

 

  • Cougar Town is back for a final season:

 

  • The cast of Sons of Anarchy appeared on Conan last night; here’s the cold open:

 

  • See Roseanne reunite with her television kids; grown up DJ is too hard for me to process:

 

  • Taylor Swift steers into the crazy skid in the video for “Blank Space”:

 

As always, we end with the supercuts and mashups

  • “Shake It Off” meets aerobics video:

 

  • Metallica’s “One” played on Medieval instruments:

 

  • Epic rap battle – Ghostbusters vs. Mythbusters:

 

  • Kendrick Lamar meets Taylor Swift:

 

  • Miley Cyrus and the Flaming Lips cover The Beatles:

 

  • Christoph Waltz makes everything better…..and a little more creepy:

 

  • Captain America: Winter Soldier reimagined as a 80s action movie:

 

  • Here’s a Walking Dead parody from Nerdist and The Hillywood Show:

 

  • And finally…..a supercut of Skeletor’s best insults:
Leave a Reply

