Drinking Songs

Alcoholic-beverages2

It’s five o’clock somewhere.

Some days, you just need a drink. Today is one of those days. Unfortunately, I realized that today was going to be one of those days last night, so I’ve been anticipating a crappy day for a good five hours before the day even began. Sigh. Nothing you can do in these situations but just ride it out and know it will pass. In two weeks, this won’t matter. But today ain’t going to be great and no amount of positive thinking is going to change that. All I can do is dream of a post-work cocktail (or two) and know that tomorrow will be a better day.

So inspired by my probably bad day and the need for some libations, I put together a list of songs about alcohol. These aren’t drinking songs in the tradition of the classic Irish ditties; you won’t hear most of these tunes in a tavern. But these songs are about drinking alcohol and that’s good enough for me.

 

  •  Alcohol – Bare Naked Ladies

 

Forget the caffe latte,
screw the raspberry iced tea
A Malibu and Coke for you, a G&T for me

 

  • Margaritaville – Jimmy Buffet

 

But there’s booze in the blender,
And soon it will render
That frozen concoction that helps me hang on.

 

Gin and Juice – Snoop Dogg

 

Rollin down the street, smokin indo, sippin on gin and juice
Laid back (with my mind on my money and my money on my mind)

 

  • Alabama Song – The Doors

 

Well, show me the way
To the next whiskey bar

 

  • One Bourbon, One Scotch, One Beer – George Thorogood and the Destroyers

 

Well I ain’t seen my baby since I don’t know when,
I’ve been drinking bourbon, whiskey, scotch and gin

 

  • Bloody Mary Morning – Willie Nelson

 

Well, it’s a bloody Mary morning
Baby left me without warning

 

  • Shots – LMFAO ft. Lil Jon

 

We like ciroc
We love patron
We came to party rock
Everybody it’s on

  • Two Pina Coladas – Garth Brooks*

*Not the Garth Brooks version since Brooks hates YouTube

So bring me two pina coladas
One for each hand
Let’s set sail with Captin Morgan
And never leave dry land

 

  • Whiskey in the Jar – Metallica

 

Being drunk and weary I went to Molly’s chamber
Takin’ my money with me and I never knew the danger

 

  • Tipsy – J-Kwon

 

Everybody in the club gettin’ tipsy 

 

  • Pass The Courvoisier Part II – Busta Rhymes feat. P. Diddy & Pharrell

 

Give me the Henny, you can give me the Cris
You can pass me the Remi, but the pass the Courvoisier

 

  • Red Red Wine – UB40

 

Red, red wine
Go to my head
Make me forget that I
Still need her so

 

  • Tequila – A.L.T. ft. The Lost Civilization (Please tell me that I’m not the only person who remembers this song)

 

I was at the bar with my drinking team
And it was me, Jack Daniels, and my homie Jim Beam

 

  • Red Solo Cup – Tony Keith

 

Red solo cup, you’re more than just plastic
More than amazing, you’re more than fantastic

 

  • Tubthumping – Chumbawamba

 

He drinks a whiskey drink
He drinks a vodka drink
He drinks a lager drink
He drinks a cider drink

 

  • Swimming Pools (Drank) – Kendrick Lamar

 

Pass out (drank), wake up (drank)
Faded (drank), faded (drank)

 

  • Spill the Wine – Eric Burdon & War

 

Take the wine dig that girl
Spill the wine, dig that girl

 

  • Piano Man – Billy Joel

 

Yes they’re sharing a drink they call loneliness
But it’s better than drinking alone

 

  • PBR – Asylum Street Spankers**

 

**Extra credit if you know about the Asylum Street Spankers; they disbanded, but I was able to see them perform twice.

No I don’t want no damn iced tea
Just bring me PBR

 

See you at the bar.

Leave a Reply

