Pop Culture Odds and Ends – Team Trivia Edition

 

I love trivia; as a kid, one of my favorite games was Trivial Pursuit and I always tried to steer people toward playing that over other board games. Part of the reason I enjoy trivia is because I am good at it – I read a lot, I’m up on current events and I have a good memory – but I also enjoy it because I usually learn something in the process of playing it. I’ve been playing Trivia Crack on my phone, but I’m hard pressed to find people that want to play as much as I do. My poor brother has been dragged into playing games with me in perpetuity and even he is taking longer and longer in between rounds.

One of my favorite things to do is to go to bars on trivia nights and play, but I have a tough time recruiting anyone to go. To me, it’s the greatest night out – have some beers, play some trivia and compete with other people – and I would do it all the time if I could. So when my friend Marty asked me if I wanted to go to a trivia night, I jumped at the chance despite the fact that I’m still not feeling 100%. I wasn’t sure when the opportunity was going to come along again. And here’s a little hint – having a pop culture blogger on your team dramatically increases your chances of winning. It might have been a light turnout, but we dominated the contest. It helped that there were a lot of questions about pop culture – the Oscars in particular – but I’m not bad at sports or history either. Geography is my kryptonite – we were asked to name the capitol of Guyana and I’m not going to lie – I had completely forgotten that was even a country. Thankfully, the geography-related questions were few and far between and the overall questioning of the night was more in our wheelhouse. Even the host of the trivia night came over to say how well we were doing. It was a lot of fun and it was nice to have a chance to showcase all that useless information that I have rattling around in my head. Plus I got to try peanut butter and jelly wings (yes – you read that right). Even if we hadn’t won, I wound have had a good time. Hopefully I can do this more regularly.

This week’s pop culture roundup is full of the kind of trivia that might come in handy. So put your team together (feel free to invite me) and study up on all the pop culture that you might have missed in the last week.

  • He seemed to have a sense of humor about the recent SNL skit about him:

 

  • This two year playing the drums is no joke:

 

Broad-City-Girls-467

 

 

Time for some trailers…..

  • A trailer for the second season of The Strain:

 

  • The Walking Dead returns:

 

  • A teaser for the upcoming Game of Thrones special:

 

  • The 4th season of Veep:

 

  • A new trailer for Get Hard:

 

  • A teaser for the third season of Bates Motel:

 

  • A new animated film, Underdogs:

 

a_560x375

  • The cast of The West Wing reunited to promote Big Block of Cheese Day:

 

dorota_girls

  • Nobody told me that a Batmobile stroller was an option; I might have made some different decisions:

 

starbuckslotr

  • Inquiring minds want to know…could Kool-Aid man actually burst through a wall:

 

  • There are a lot of X-men; this video helps you keep all of them straight:

 

  • Conan got the Archer treatment and battled some Russian mobsters:

 

 

As always, we end with the mashups and supercuts….

screen-shot-2015-01-14-at-8-44-39-am

  • Cookie Monster sings “Fade Into You:”

 

  • A supercut of the bad acting from VCR board games (remember when those were the coolest thing ever?):

 

  • Fall Out Boy covering “Uptown Funk” is better than it should be:

 

  • This supercut proves women get asked terrible questions on the red carpet:

 

  • And finally, Boyhood meets Boy Meets World:
One thought on “Pop Culture Odds and Ends – Team Trivia Edition

  1. Nerdy Jock says:

    Hi there! I’m the creator of the Archer workout and just wanted to say thanks for including it. 🙂

Leave a Reply

