Pop Culture Odds and Ends – Back in the New York Groove Edition

You may have noticed some radio silence on the blog for the last week or so – at least I hope you noticed the lack of new posts. Right on the heels of my whirlwind weekend in NYC, I took off on a much needed vacation to San Francisco and while I had every intention of getting ahead on my blog posts before I went away that most certainly did not happen. 24 hours before my flight, I was running around getting extra sets of keys made and trying to figure out how to fit everything that I needed into my luggage. Back to back trips may have been a lot of fun, but they didn’t leave me much time for preparation. So my time off from work also meant time off from the blog.

While I had a wonderful time and it was nice to get a break, I’m excited to get back to my routine and what better way to resume usual activities than with a super edition of the pop culture roundup? Since I didn’t get to it last week before I left, this week is jam packed with pop culture nuggets from the last two weeks. I may have been delinquent in my pop culture responsibilities, but that doesn’t mean that the pop culture machine wasn’t still churning out all sorts of goodness. So while I vainly try to adapt back to East Coast time, get yourself caught up on all the pop culture that you might have missed in the last two weeks.

 

  • Once again, whoever runs Arby’s social media is on point:

  • We all have that friend who does stupid things; watch Jay Z’s entire cycle of emotions when Kanye briefly jumped up on the Grammy stage (his little head shake kills me every time):

 

5lKo109684869221973444787624839627852502350868n

  • Tom Hiddleston recites a tongue twister for charity:

 

tom-hanks-and-wilson

  • Celebrities are obsessed with Serial too:

 

Time for some trailers…..

  • Magic Mike XXL:

 

  • Season three of Orphan Black:

 

  • Pitch Perfect 2:

 

  • Showtime’s HAPPYish:

 

  • A red band trailer for Straight Outta Compton:

 

  • The documentary Seymour: An Introduction:

 

  • Netflix’s new series Bloodline, starring Coach Taylor:

 

  • Paul Blart: Mall Cop 2:

 

  • Silicon Valley season 2:

 

  • Furious 7:

 

  • The sharks from Katy Perry’s halftime show are in a new SportsCenter commercial (sort of):

 

red-skull

  • Justin Timberlake confirms wife Jessica Biel’s pregnancy:

 

  • This video examines the inner workings of Jabba the Hutt:

 

Lego-Avengers-Helicarrier-3-360x204

 

  • Here’s the True Detective-like long tracking show from It’s Always Sunny:

 

As always, we end with the mashups and supercuts…..

  • The evolution of Batman in cinema:

 

  • All the important Snape scenes from the Harry Potter films re-cut in chronological order:

 

  • Weird Al gets Whiplash-ed:

 

tumblr_nj6bh1d5gj1u8lj26o1_1280

  • Batman joins the cast of popular TV shows:

 

  • A supercut of sound effects from Quentin Tarantino movies:

 

  • 50 Shades of Buscemi:

 

  • LEGO 50 Shades of Grey:

 

  • And finally, Taylor Swift and Nine Inch Nails work surprisingly well together:
Leave a Reply

