Pop Culture Odds and Ends – Baby It’s Cold Outside Edition

I was lucky enough to have a three day weekend last weekend and I spent almost all of it, with the exception of one hour, in my apartment because the thought of going outside was too much for me to handle. With the temperature dipping into the negative and the wind chill adding insult to injury, it seemed easier to just hibernate for as long as possible. Even the thought of going to the movies to continue my Oscar death race seemed like too much trouble. My DVR had filled up during my vacation, so I curled up on the couch and powered through 8 hours of The Tonight Show while listening to the heat running non-stop for 72 hours. Thank the dear Lord that I don’t live in Boston – not only would I  be surrounded by  Sox and Pats fans *shudder* but I do not think I could handle all the snow that they have. Boston Strong has taken on a whole new meaning. I tip my winter hat to New England – you are better people than I (only when it comes to weather).

Being under self-imposed house arrest also allowed me plenty of time to seek out pop culture nuggets for this week’s roundup. There’s something in here for everyone, so warm yourself with the pop culture goodness that I’ve uncovered.

  • Well Jessica Williams has dashed my hopes that she’d take over for Jon Stewart:

 

  • The SNL 40 after-party sounds crazy (I’m assuming my invite got lost in the mail):

 

New-Ghostbusters-SNL

  • Watch Beyonce’s killer tribute to Stevie Wonder:

 

Time for some trailers:

  • Bradley Cooper and Emma Stone in Aloha:

 

  • Henry Cavill and Armie Hammer in The Man from U.N.C.L.E:

 

  • A red band trailer for Amy Schumer’s movie, Trainwreck:

 

  • Reese Witherspoon and Sofia Vergara in Hot Pursuit:

 

  • A new trailer for House of Cards:

 

  • Tom Hiddleston in Crimson Peak:

 

  • Insurgent:

 

  • A teaser for Justin Bieber’s Comedy Central roast:

 

  • A trailer for Bjork’s MOMA exhibit:

 

  • A trailer for the new season of Keeping Up With The Kardashians:

 

  • Emma Watson and Ethan Hawke in Regression:

 

  • A teaser for Ryan Murphy’s Scream Queens:

 

  • Billy Crystal and Josh Gad in The Comedians:

 

  • To celebrate his first year as host of The Tonight Show, Jimmy Fallon is getting a new Ben and Jerry’s flavor:

 

up-dog-house

  • Rob Lowe will star in Fox’s comedy The Grinder. I assume they don’t mean the app, though that would be an interesting show.
  • There is a conspiracy theory about The Simpsons involving Homer being in a coma the last 20 years:

 

  • Scarface as an 8-bit video game:

 

  • Jimmy Kimmel fires Cookie Monster:

 

  • Weird Al videobombed Gwen Stefani on the Grammy red carpet:

Gwen Stefani videobomb

A post shared by Al Yankovic (@alfredyankovic) on

 

  • Terry Crews dropped by Sesame Street:

 

  • Jimmy Fallon shares a photo of new daughter Franny:

Franny Fallon wishes you a happy Tuesday!

A post shared by Jimmy Fallon (@jimmyfallon) on

 

  • Leslie Gore, singer of “It’s My Party” and “You Don’t Own Me” has died.

As always we end with the supercuts and mashups…

  • Here’s a supercut of Daffy Duck laughing:

 

  • All the kills from the Keanu Reeves movie John Wick:

 

  • Y’all knew it was going to happen – Beck mashed up with Kanye:

 

  • And just to round things out – Beck mashed up with Beyoncé:

 

  • A reggae Whiplash parody:

 

  • Spider-Man and The Avengers hang out in this mashup:

 

  • Sam Smith’s “I’m Not The Only One” mashed up with Ed Sheeran’s “Thinking Out Loud”

 

  • A supercut of the early roles of 2015 Oscar nominees:

 

  • Every “Kane” from Citizen Kane:

 

  • Dr. Phil with just the reaction shots:

 

  • And finally, in honor of The Breakfast Club’s 30th anniversary, a montage of 80s teen movies:

 

Leave a Reply

