Heather’s 2015 Oscar Ballot

83rd Academy Awards, Oscar Envelope

The Oscars are finally upon us! This Sunday, ABC will air the 87th Academy Award ceremony and months of speculation and conjecture will finally end. I have to admit that I completely dropped the ball on my Oscar death race; I started out strong, having seen many of the Oscar nominated movies before the contenders were even announced, but then in the pivotal late January/early February period for seeking out the rest of the nominees I failed. Going on vacation and the cold weather were a lethal combination. If I had another weekend I think I might come close to pulling it off this year, but instead I’m spending the final days of Oscar prep scrambling just to get all the acting categories covered. I’ve never been this late in the game and not had the major categories completed, though in my defense a couple of the movies I have left just opened locally. Still, I’m committed to ending this race strong even if I can’t complete it; by Sunday at 8 pm, I will have all the major categories covered (Best Picture, the acting awards and Best Director) and be in pretty good shape for the rest. Surprisingly, the one category that I am WAY behind on is Best Animated Feature. Without The LEGO Movie in the running, my heart’s not in it.

But you didn’t come here for excuses or hedging, you came here for Oscar picks. And even without seeing all the films, I think my ballot is in pretty good shape. I’m not saying that these are a lock – I’m actually not 100% confident in my Best Picture choice – but if you use these in your Oscar pool and want to share your winnings with your favorite blogger, I’m not going to protest 🙂 So without further ado, here are my picks for Sunday’s Oscars:

 

Best Picture: Birdman

hr_Birdman_1

I think its between Birdman and Boyhood; I liked Birdman a whole lot more, so I’m going with my gut. This was a tough year – I didn’t hate any of the Best Picture nominees, but I didn’t love any of them either.

 

Best Actor: Michael Keaton (Birdman)

hr_Birdman_16

Hollywood loves a comeback.

 

Best Actress: Julianne Moore (Still Alice)

Still_Alice_Still

This is one of the movies that I still have to see, but the word on the street is that this is a lock.

 

Best Supporting Actor: JK Simmons (Whiplash)

Whiplash-Simmons-shouting

 

Best Supporting Actress: Patricia Arquette (Boyhood)

o-PATRICIA-ARQUETTE-570

 

Best Director: Richard Linklater (Boyhood)

STlinklater021405259470

I think the Academy will be impressed with his vision of a movie done over 12 years.

 

Best Adapted Screenplay: Paul Thomas Anderson (Inherent Vice)

MV5BMjI2ODQ2NzUwMl5BMl5BanBnXkFtZTgwNjU3NTE4MjE@._V1_SX214_AL_

This was a weird movie but it was allegedly loyal to a weird book.

 

Best Original Screenplay: Alejandro González Iñárritu, Nicolás Giacobone, Alexander Dinelaris, Armando Bo (Birdman)

birdman

 

Best Foreign Film: Ida

ida_ver2

I really dug this film; it’s streaming on Netflix. Plus got to support my Polish heritage.

 

Best Documentary Feature: Citizenfour

11181051_800

Best Animate Feature: How to Train Your Dragon 2

 

Film Editing: Boyhood

MV5BMTYzNDc2MDc0N15BMl5BanBnXkFtZTgwOTcwMDQ5MTE@._V1_SX640_SY720_

 

Best Song: John Legend and Common, “Glory” (Selma)

Common

I won’t be surprised if The LEGO Movie wins here, but I think voter guilt will give Selma the edge.

 

Best Original Score: Alexandre Desplat, The Grand Budapest Hotel

hotel

I don’t see The Grand Budapest Hotel winning any of the big prizes, but I think it’s going to clean up on the more technical categories.

 

Best Cinematography: Emmanuel Lubezki, Birdman

birdman

 

Costume Design: Milena Canonero, The Grand Budapest Hotel

hotel

 

Makeup and Hairstyling: Guardians of the Galaxy

galaxy

 

Production Design: Adam Stockhausen and Anna Pinnock, The Grand Budapest Hotel

hotel

 

Sound Editing: American Sniper

MV5BMTkxNzI3ODI4Nl5BMl5BanBnXkFtZTgwMjkwMjY4MjE@._V1_SX640_SY720_

 

Sound Mixing: Whiplash

whip

 

Visual Effects: Guardians of the Galaxy

galaxy

They made a talking tree and racoon seem like real people. Case closed.

 

Short Film, Live Action: Mat Kirkby, director and James Lucas, The Phone Call

phone call

 

Short Film, Animated: Patrick Osborne and Kristina Reed, Feast

feast

 

Documentary, Short Subject: Perry Films, Crisis Hotline: Veterans Press 1

crisis

So who are your picks? Who do you want to see win? Sound off in the comments.

Leave a Reply

