Pop Culture Odds and Ends – Spring Cleaning Edition

I found myself in an unusual position last weekend – I stayed in town and didn’t have any plans. I decided to take advantage of this unexpected free time to start spring cleaning. My apartment was in desperate need of a purge – turns out that when you are never home, things tend to pile up and your place is a mess. So I put some March Madness on the TV and went to town, throwing out a lot of stuff that I’ve accumulated and putting other things where they belong. I even donated a bunch of books and clothing, so my spring cleaning helped others. I’ve still got some work to do – I ran out of steam eventually – but I made a real dent in the mess. That’s progress.

I also cleaned out all the links that I’ve been compiling for the last week and the result is yet another pop culture roundup. So kick back, relax and see what you might have missed in the last seven days.

  • James Corden kicked off his tenure of hosting The Late Late Show by recreating Tom Hanks’ filmography:

 

  • Florence + the Machine debuted another new song:

 

enhanced-3455-1426672617-1

  • Conan and Zachary Quinto remember the late Leonard Nimoy:

 

  • Cookie Monster, Life Coach:

 

Time for some trailers….

  • I’m a little embarrassed about how excited I am for Lip Sync Battle:

 

  • Mission Impossible: Rouge Nation:

 

  • Silicon Valley, season two:

 

  • Matt Dillon in the new Fox series, Wayward Pines:

 

  • Orphan Black, season three:

 

  • Ethan Hawke in Good Kill:

 

  • Pitch Perfect 2:

 

  • James Franco and Jonah Hill in True Story:

 

  • Paper Towns:

 

  • Lake Bell and Simon Pegg in Man Up:

 

  • The WWE keeps cranking out movies – The Marine 4: Moving Target:

 

  • New Entourage trailer:

 

Premiere Of HBO's "Big Love" Season 5 - Arrivals

As always, we end with the mashups and supercuts:

  • Kendrick Lamar and the theme from Seinfeld go together well:

 

  • Up as a horror movie:

 

  • A Harry Potter-themed parody of “Uptown Funk”:

 

  • A dream sequence supercut:

 

  • LEGO The Matrix:

 

  • The Peanuts perform Journey:

 

  • The Avengers meets Friends:

 

  • And finally – Saved By The Bell meets Game of Thrones:
Leave a Reply

