Pop Culture Odds and Ends – Still Haven’t Seen Avengers: Age of Ultron Edition

I have been looking forward to Avengers: Age of Ultron basically since the first Avengers movie ended, yet I haven’t had the chance to see it yet. I was away when the movie debuted and while in theory I have no issue with going to a movie while on vacation, it seemed a waste to spend some of my precious time away sitting in a dark theater and not talking to my friends. I’ve been too tired since I returned to go and priorities dictated that I had to watch the latest episode of Game of Thrones first since those spoilers are much harder to dodge. I’m hopefully that I can rally and make it to a screening tonight, but the fact that my assistant is out grabbing me a coffee doesn’t bode well (for the record – she was already going out to get herself something. I’m not a monster). I sincerely don’t know how people wait weeks – or even months – before seeing blockbuster movies. It’s been six days and I think I’m starting to get the shakes. Do they have a 12 step program for pop culture?

My failure to see Age of Ultron also increased the level of difficulty in putting together this week’s pop culture roundup, as I had to duck many a link about what happened in the movie. I’m not one to avoid a challenge, however, so I was able to pull together this week’s roundup without any real damage being done and no big spoilers revealed. So while I guzzle some caffeine in the hopes of being able to sit through the movie tonight without falling asleep, enjoy the fruits of my labor and get yourself caught up on the pop culture that you might have missed in the last week.

CEHeJU3WAAA5H0S.jpg large

  • Jimmy Fallon and Jack Black recreate the “More Than Words” music video:

 

  • Emilia Clarke got a big kick out of Kristen Wiig’s impression of her Game of Thrones character Daenerys on The Tonight Show:

 

  • Will Ferrell brought out his Harry Caray impression for David Letterman:

 

  • J.K. Rowling apologizes for killing off a Harry Potter character:

 

  • I have no idea what is happening in this Justin Timberlake tequila ad:

 

Time for some trailers……

  • A new look at San Andreas:

 

  • Simon Pegg in Absolutely Anything:

 

  • Robin Williams is a talking dog in his final film:

 

  • The latest Mortal Kombat X trailer:

 

  • The guy behind the documentary Room 237 is back with The Nightmare:

 

  • Tom Felton and Joseph Fiennes in Risen:

 

  • There was a Spice Girls reunion at David Beckham’s birthday, with Eva Longoria standing in for Scary Spice:

 

  • Arnold Schwarzenegger acted out his films in six minutes:

 

  • Matt Le Blanc sang some of Joey’s songs from Friends on The Graham Norton Show:

 

 

As always, we end with the supercuts and mashups…..

  • Star Wars meets Top Gun:

 

  • The many times that Don Draper has said “what?”:

 

magic-mike-xxl-glover

  • Here’s Metallica’s “Enter Sandman” – performed backwards:

 

  • The Real Housewives of King’s Landing:

 

  • This weekend’s big boxing match recreated in Punch-Out!

 

  • A cappella Muppets:

 

  • Here’s Hugh Jackman lip syncing “Bacon Pancakes” from Adventure Time:

Good morning….

A post shared by Hugh Jackman (@thehughjackman) on

 

  • Unbreakable meets Unbreakable Kimmy Schmidt:

 

  • And finally, that epic Peggy scene from last Sunday’s Mad Men gets the best soundtrack ever:
Leave a Reply

