Pop Culture Odds and Ends – Comic Con Aftermath Edition

Another Comic Con is in the books and once again I wasn’t there. This is proving to be one of the more expensive and difficult items to cross of my bucket list and I suspect that actually being at Comic Con is a much bigger headache than I anticipate (and I anticipate that it’s a pretty big headache). Still, this doesn’t detour me in my quest of finally making it to the granddaddy of all conventions; one of these years I will be able to score tickets and will make the journey to San Diego. I may be 100 when that happens, but it will happen eventually. I have faith in the pop culture gods.

But until that day comes, I’ll be happy with all the nuggets of info that came out of the Con. And because I am a generous person, I’ll share those bits of pop culture goodness with you. I’ve collected the best that Comic Con had to offer, as well as all the normal pop culture goodness that you’ve come to expect from these weekly roundups. Who wants to go to San Diego anyway?

  • Maisie Williams and Daniel Radcliffe took a selfie at Comic-Con with Doctor Who’s Jenna Louise Coleman (Clara) and Game of Thrones’ Hannah Murray (Gilly):

I think this photo is gonna make the world implode….. Last night was really great #sdcc2015

A post shared by Maisie Williams (@maisie_williams) on

 

tumblr_nr8wmodtCX1s3y9slo1_500

  • Stephen Colbert and Neil deGrasse Tyson discuss Pluto (the dwarf planet, not the cartoon dog):

 

  • Conan channeled Mad Max for his Comic Con arrival:

 

  • Another Ghostbusters reveal from Paul Feig:

 

  • Tina Fey and Amy Poehler debuted the trailer for their new movie last night:

 

  • Swift squad member Ed Sheeran did a duet with Elton John:

 

  • For no apparent reason, Rob Lowe lip syncing The Sound of Music:

 

  • The O.C. musical happening in LA has found its leads. Maybe I’ll start a Kickstarter campaign to finance a trip to see it.
  • Paul Rudd helped welcome Jimmy Fallon back with a game of Drinko (rather than Plinko):

 

  • Jon Hamm pretended to be Bill Hader during an interview about the new Amy Schumer movie Trainwreck (which I cannot wait to see):

 

  • Lea Michele paid tribute to Corey Monteith on the second anniversary of his death:

 

As always, we end with the supercuts and mashups:

  • Here’s every time Rod Serling said “the Twilight Zone” on camera:

 

  • Jedi chipmunks:

 

  • A super cut of people saying “Now that’s what I’m talking about” in movies:

 

640

 

  • A supercut of Game of Thrones references in pop culture:

 

  • Here’s a supercut of Jim Carey falling down:

 

  • A supercut of 90’s Disney movies:

 

  • A tribute to Jon Stewart:

 

  • Postmodern Jukebox covers Britney Spears (and it’s awesome):

 

  • The opening of The Office without the music is kind of depressing:

 

  • Peggy Olson and Drake are a perfect combination:

 

  • A Batman v Superman/Friends mashup:

 

  • And finally, the True Detective credits remixed in the style of Starsky & Hutch:

 

 

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

