Pop Culture Odds and Ends – My Brother Got Married Edition

This past Saturday my baby brother became a married man. I still can’t believe it; in my mind, he’s barely old enough to drive let alone have a wife. In reality, he’s in his 30s and I’ve just frozen him in time around the age he was when we both last lived together. He was 11 when I went off to college and since I have a hard time believing that I’m an old lady that extends to me believing that he is an actual real gown-up. The wedding was a great time – how can it not be when your table is getting shots during dinner? – and I gained a great sister-in-law in the process (though I’m still not sure how we let someone into the family who has never seen Seinfeld). It seems a little weird that after a year of build up that it is actually over and we have to go back to talking about other things.

Of course, I never stopped talking about pop culture during the wedding prep and I’m not about to stop now. I’m back on schedule this week with your Wednesday pop culture roundup and have brought you the latest and greatest news that you may have missed. So kick back and relax and peruse all that this week’s roundup has to offer.

  • I’m enjoying these Hugh Jackman dubsmash videos:

 

  • This calendar will help you keep track of all the fall TV premieres.

Time for some trailers…….

  • A red band trailer for Sleeping With Other People:

 

  • Showtime’s Billions:

 

  • HBO’s Westworld:

 

  • Jem and the Holograms:

 

  • Project Greenlight returns to HBO:

 

  • IFC’s Benders:

 

  • Amy Schumer: Live At The Apollo:

 

  • Mads Mikkelsen in Men & Chicken:

 

  • Demetri Martin’s Netflix stand-up special:

 

  • The Walking Dead: No Man’s Land mobile game:

 

  • Mistress America:

 

  • Elle Fanning in About Ray:

 

  • The Last Witch Hunter:

 

TheElaineDance_Sweatshirt_flat_1024x1024

il_fullxfull.804419179_ip3o

 

  • I’m guessing Ed Sheeran is going to eventually regret this tattoo:

Halfway and ouch

A post shared by Ed Sheeran (@teddysphotos) on

 

  • Did you know that Chris Farley was the original voice for Shrek?

 

  • This Swiftie has a lot of time and dominos on their hands:

 

As always, we end with the mashups and supercuts……

  • A montage of James Cameron movies:

 

  • Donald Trump becomes Dr. Evil:

 

  • A mash-up of The Commodores and The Cure:

 

  • Chris Pratt and Tom Hiddleston have a virtual dance off:

 

 

  • An Adventure Time remix of Mad Max: Fury Road:

 

  • A 50’s-style cover of “My Heart Will Go On”:

 

  • Famous comedians dealing with hecklers:

 

  • Napoleon Dynamite reimagined as a drama:

 

  • Star Wars gets a True Detective (season 1) credit makeover:

 

  • Kelly Clarkson covers Prince:

 

  • The Walking Deadpool:

 

  • Scooby Doo recreated in GTA V:

 

  • And finally, Game of Thrones gets Parks and Recreation-style credits:
Leave a Reply

