Pop Culture Odds and Ends – On the DL Edition

We’re now on day 4 of my stint on the disabled list due to a sprained ankle and I’m really pretty much over this injury. I am a pretty terrible patient and if I wasn’t trying to get myself healed up for my big weekend plans I probably wouldn’t be taking it as easy as I currently am. Of course, my idea of “taking it easy” is actually following instructions and even going so far as to take a sick day from work to rest up, but there seems to be progress in my recovery. I even let my mom bring me some groceries yesterday, which was a pretty big concession since I really don’t like having to ask for help. I’m also feeling well enough to overanalyze who has and has not been quick to check in on me and how I’m doing; that’s a good sign – that means I’m not in as much pain if I can read way too much into things.

But even a sprained ankle couldn’t keep me from getting you the pop culture roundup. Since I’ve had a lot of downtime, I was able to spend most of my recovery time searching high and low on the internet for stories that you might have missed in the last seven days. So while I remember to keep my leg elevated and iced throughout the day, enjoy the fruits of my labors with this week’s roundup.

  • Jimmy Fallon and Taraji P. Henson play “Fast Family Feud”:

 

Time for some trailers……

  • Bradley Cooper in Burnt:

 

  • Matt Damon in The Martian:

 

  • The first teaser for The Daily Show with Trevor Noah:

 

  • Robert Pattison as James Dean in Life:

 

  • Bryan Cranston in Trumbo:

 

  • Doctor Who: Series 9:

 

  • New promos for The Muppets:

 

 

  • Manhattan season two:

 

  • Sundance hit The Witch reveals its first trailer:

 

  • The Flash, season 2:

 

  • ABC’s Wicked City:

 

  • Daniel Radcliffe in Victor Frankenstein:

 

  • Netflix’s Narcos:

 

565

 

IF

IF

  • Downton Abbey fans will like this reunion on Instagram:

Reunited. @thatdanstevens I've missed this face #bafta #LastDaysOfDownton #matthewandmary

A post shared by Michelle Dockery (@theladydockers) on

 

  • Josh Groban sang Donald Trump tweets on Jimmy Kimmel Live!:

 

tumblr_nszoolEu9i1qz8vumo1_500

  • Amy Schumer, Bill Hader and I all have something in common – Sitting in clogs:

12-trainwreck-shoe.w529.h352.2x

 

 

996975_10153492470500564_64350530_n

  • Beyoncé is on the cover of the September issue of Vogue:

 

  •  This is an actual video released by the Philadelphia police department; it might seem familiar:

 

  • Julianne Hough is engaged to NHL player Brooks Laich.

As always, we end with the mashups and supercuts….

  • District 9 gets the 8-bit treatment:

 

  • What if Werner Herzong directed Ant-Man?:

 

  • Bern Your Enthusiasm:

 

  • “Seven Nation Army” gets a vintage New Orleans dirge cover:

 

  • Another cover –Jane Lynch covers “Anaconda”:

 

  • 100 TV theme songs on guitar:

 

  • The Hateful Eight vs The Thing:

 

  • What if True Detective was a sitcom?

 

  • Game of Thrones will the Sesame Street theme song:

 

  • And finally, The Muppets cover N.W.A:

 

 

One thought on “Pop Culture Odds and Ends – On the DL Edition

  1. Karen Breski says:

    We are so sorry to hear about your ankle.

    Take care and enjoy the R&R and catching up on tasks that were put aside for a rainy day.

    It was so good seeing you at the wedding.

    Take care,

    Love, Aunt Karen

Leave a Reply

