Pop Culture Odds and Ends – Ready for Some Football Edition

http://waterfrontpgh.com/tag/pop-culture/

                     http://waterfrontpgh.com/tag/pop-culture/

Tomorrow night marks the official return of football and I have to say, I’m a little more excited for this season than I expected. I’m still a ride or die baseball chick, but over the years my affinity for football has continued to grow. It helps that this year my Buffalo Bills might actually not be completely terrible; I won’t go so far as to say that they’ll be good because a) they are still the Bills and b) I don’t want to be held responsible for jinxing anything by the Bills Mafia. I even sat through some pre-season games this year, which I’ve never willingly done before. I didn’t watch all of them, but the mere fact that I sought out the game to see how the team was doing is somewhat surprising. So I’m excited for football this year, though I’ll always be more excited to get to hang out with my friends once a week to watch games. I’ve been going to the same place for 10 years (!) and its comforting to have a routine and a little football posse to spend every Sunday with.

But this isn’t a sports blog, so on to the matter at hand – this week’s pop culture roundup. As you’ve become accustomed, I’ve scoured the Internet far and wide to find the best that the world of pop culture has to offer. So impress your friends with you pop culture knowledge by perusing this week’s offerings.

cranston-all-the-way

  • John Oliver wishes kids a happy back-to-school:

 

  • The Rock spent his Labor Day saving one of his new puppies:

Here's a fun Labor Day weekend story… We just decided to add two new members to our Johnson family. Baby French Bulldogs. In my right hand is BRUTUS and in my left hand is HOBBS. Bring them home and immediately take them outside so they can start learning how to "handle their business and potty like big boys". I set them both down and they both take off in a full sprint and fall right into the deep end of our pool. HOBBS immediately starts doggy paddling while BRUTUS (like a brick) sink heads first to the bottom of the pool. I take off into a full sprint, fully clothed, dive in the pool, swim to the bottom, rescue my brick, I mean BRUTUS and bring him back to the edge of the pool. He was a little delirious.. took a moment, threw up all the water he swallowed and looked up at me as if to say, "Thank God you didn't have to give me mouth to mouth!" and then ran off to play with his brother. A few lessons I've learned today.. A) Not all puppies have the instinct to doggie paddle. B) Some puppies (like BRUTUS) will be so in shock by experiencing water they will sink extremely fast so react quick. C) While spiriting to save your puppies life, before you dive in, try and throw your cel phone to safety. Don't keep it in your pocket… like I did. #BRUTUSLives #HOBBSCanSwim #MyCelPhonesDead #AndNoMouthToMouthNeeded #HappyLaborDay

A post shared by therock (@therock) on

 

Time for some trailers…..

  • A new teaser for The Muppets:

 

  • A Christmas Horror Story:

 

  • Seth Rogen and Joseph Gordon-Levitt in The Night Before:

 

  • Best Time Ever with Neil Patrick Harris:

 

  • Season two of iZombie (yay!):

 

  • Beasts of No Nation (with Idris Elba):

 

  • A new season of Billy on the Street:

 

  • Eddie Redmayne in The Danish Girl:

 

  • Daniel Radcliffe in The Gamechangers:

 

  • Michael Fassbender in Macbeth:

 

  • Colin Farrell in The Lobster:

 

  • Drew Barrymore and Toni Collette in Miss You Already:

 

  • Full Frontal with Samantha Bee:

 

  • Chloe Grace Moretz in The 5th Wave:

 

  • Jake Gyllenhaal in Demolition:

 

  • Sandra Bullock in Our Brand is Crisis:

 

  • Here’s Blue Ivy’s gift for her famous mama:

Thank you from the bottom of my heart for all my birthday wishes. 🎂🎈💙🐝

A post shared by Beyoncé (@beyonce) on

 

  • Stephen Tyler sand “I Don’t Want To Miss A Thing” with a street performer in Moscow:

 

  • Kristen Bell has made sure that the Luncheonette lives on:

00000000000jbbhbvihy-1

As always, we end with the supercuts and mashups……

  • The Foo Fighters recruited members of Queen and Led Zeppelin to cover “Under Pressure”:

 

  • A supercut of female seduction on film:

 

  • Wall-E meets The Martian:

 

  • A mash-up of club scenes from the movies:

 

  • This tumblr mashes up Star Wars with headlines from The Onion:

tumblr_ntut7nwWMP1savpdqo4_500 tumblr_ntut7nwWMP1savpdqo7_540

tumblr_ntytuapjF11ufqzago1_500 tumblr_nu7e2wfNXb1ufqzago1_500

 

  • Barenaked Ladies cover Phil Collins:

 

  • Swayze vs. Bacon….it’s a dance off:

 

  • A tribute to cinematic heroes and heroines:

 

  • This supercut shows that President Bartlet flipped his jacket a lot on The West Wing:

 

  • Sesame Street pulled of a When Harry Met Sally parody that is OK for kids:

 

  • This supercut pays tribute to Wes Craven:

 

p0drsD7640

Leave a Reply

